The Government Of Trinidad And Tobago Are Corrupt And Murderous, And No-one Gives A Fuck Because It's Not Trump

in #immigration2 years ago (edited)

image.png

The embassy of Trinidad and Tobago in Caracas, Venezuela, maintains an illegal list of certified translators because the Venezuelan Ministry of Internal Affairs can't be bothered to publish an updated list in their website. So, a very long time ago, around 2016, I asked to be included in their list. They required that I go to the embassy with all my official documents to be reviewed by the ambassador or consul (can't remember which).

I was awfully sick with something that resembled a flu and I forgot to bring an official copy of the official gazette. The ambassador or consul was late toy appointment by over an hour, but I was not allowed to get a copy of said gazette nor could they bother check it online at the website of the National Press or the Supreme Court of Justice. I had brought with me my diploma which was evidence enough of my certification.

At that time I was very poor and just getting there was very financially straining. I was also sick, as I noted above. They treated me as if I were disposable, and I vowed never to ask anything from them again.

Not a lot of time later, news of mistreatment of immigrants, both legal and illegal, by the Trinidadian government started to reach us through social media. And my aversion for that government grew even more.

This is the first time they shoot at migrants that I know of tho, and of course the world won't give a fuck about it because it's not the US border and it's not Trump.

Trinidad and Tobago is one of the worst places to go as a Venezuelan. That island has profited from food and oils traffickers. Their people came here both legally and illegally when Venezuela was rich and profited from us when we were a wealthy country. Their government has profited from very lucrative contracts with this and the preceding administration. And yet they treat us like dirt.

My feelings for that country are nothing but a can of worms and I won't deny it. Many do. It's not mainstream to be outraged as it is in the case of the American border. But it's just as disgusting.

People must not immigrate illegally, but holding them like rabid dogs in crowded cells (as it's. la now happening in the US) or shooting them as just happened in Trinidad and Tobago are crimes against humanity, even if most will keep quiet because the media doesn't tell them to be outraged.

Yes, most people need the media to tell them when to be outraged and won't protest wrongs unless prompted to. That's not my case.

RIP all Venezuelans illegally detained and murdered by the government of Trinidad and Tobago. I hope Venezuelans do not forget. We should become a wealthy country again with strong borders so as to control who comes in. We have one of the most open borders in the world, and neighbors and other LA countries have repaid us with xenophobia, hatred and murder.

I know I won't help my wealth grow by dropping truth bombs, but having ethics and values is something I'm not ready to compromise for money.

Full article on how now the government of Trinidad and Tobago just shoots Venezuelan migrants as if they were dogs:
https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/2022/02/06/trinidad-coast-guard-migrant-baby-killed/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74