WHAT I LEARNED IN THE PEACE CORPS

in #immigration6 years ago

If you're still confused about what's at stake in the immigration issue, please read this powerful essay!
As I'd generated quite a bit of traffic today, I WAS going to hold this lengthy email for tomorrow. BUT, since it seems the DACA thing may move in the next 48 hours or so, I'm sending it now.
It came to me from a friend, Bert, I met during the FairTax battles in the 90s. Bert, a very decent and pretty smart guy, is a large animal vet out west, wrote the first two paragraphs.
The entire essay that follows is by Karin McQuillan in the current "American Thinker" (at the link at the bottom).
This paragraph jumped off the screen at me. In a few short words the author nails the crux of our current problem.
"Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined that a few decades later, liberals would be pushing the lie that Western civilization is no better than a third-world country. Or would teach two generations of our kids that loving your own culture and wanting to preserve it are racism."
If you STILL don't grasp what's at stake in this immigration issue, YOU WILL AFTER READING THIS ESSAY!
DB


I spent three years ('69 - '72) as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Peru.  I taught physics and math in Spanish in a Peruvian university in Arequipa, Peru.  I enjoyed a wonderful experience as a PCV, but Peru is a far cry from Africa.  I "drew the line" and did not pay "bribes" on a regular basis as is customary in that country.  Much as I love the Peruvians and respect their family ethic and the work ethic of most, I do not want to import their system here to the USA. -Bert
I am not against immigration or immigrants.  However, I believe that ANYONE allowed access to this country should do so with the idea of assimilation into it in order to promote the American ideals and Constitutional laws which made this country great.  If we dilute our standards with those from other countries, the USA will become just another place to survive and will not represent a beacon of hope to the rest of the world.    -    Bert

http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2018/01/what_i_learned_in_peace_corps_in_africa_trump_is_right.html#ixzz54Rt67yxj

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15