You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Word on the Different Kinds of Migration

in #immigration7 years ago

Well done! I love when complex issues are simplified.

As a sociologist, I decided to become an immigrant and see what all the fuss is about. In rural colombia a blue-eyed wisconsinite has three heads!

But there is a color element as well. Although I have been approached many times over the years with hate for being an american, gringo or 'yankee', I have much more often been looked at with benign wonder, as in, 'Why would a gringo choose to live here?'.

All in all it has been the greatest conversation starter of my life. Tips - when immigrating, try to learn the language. I emphasize try because, at least in latin america, a gringo who tries to speak spanish is looked upon very favorably, as most never try.

Sort:  

Thank you, @ecoinstant, both for the up-vote as well as your cvaluable addition to the conversation. :c)

It is funny that you should recount your experiences in quite that way - as I found that my experiences in Wisconsin were similar - even if I was just visiting. :cP

I'd say that following legal channels and being so small of a minority as not to be considered a minority has certain diplomatic advantages. It means that on generally flies under the radar for flag-raising - especially if one is merely a tourist.

I must admit that more permanent migration (and I'd frankly choose WI if I were inclined to settle within the US - though UK is more likely) has crossed my mind but I have found myself highly hesitant. Its not so bad here between October and May.

Oh... I'm muttering out loud.

Very much agree with your advice. If you are going to live in any location upon the planet - make an effort to learn the language. Just as one would hope the same of migrants entering one's own country. Consistency. :c)

Thanks again. ^_^

If you're coming here from Malta, bring a coat and an umbrella.

Most of the people from Malta I know are more British than the British, same with Gibraltar and Hong Kong.

I'm relaxed about migration, I'm of the mind that you should be able to live and work wherever you want, as long as you can look after yourself and are prepared to work.

However, I'm against what Merkle did, millions of people at once, unvetted and unskilled, I can't see how it will work out well for Germany or the migrants.

Haha! Yes - well I genuinely wouldn't know about how I'd fair on the Britishness scale. Sans that one brief stop-over in Manchester a month ago, last time I was in the UK was 1990.

I'll probably visit again in the none-too-distant future. As for settling there - I should really look into renewing my expired passport before Brexit. :c)

Oh - and I am not a fan of Merkel. She made a downright mess of the Syrian migration crisis. ¬_¬ As for how it will work out... it will... for Merkel's employer class buddies. Pretty sure that the clout of the workers has taken a hit, to put things mildly.

Thank you, both for the up-vote and your comment. @purpleprose. :c)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30