You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where Do We Head From Here?

in #imagine4 years ago

I certainly appreciate your insights, and I like the positive response you are receiving to this post. I would ask that you reconsider your thought that both chains are threatened by each other. It is HIVE that feels threatened by Steem, otherwise they would not have made such a desperate, and ill planned decision to break off. Most of the people from HIVE are still here, and feeling uncertain about HIVE's future, hence keeping their feet firmly rooted on the Steem blockchain. But as you rightly say, it is time to move forward and look at what can be done to positively reconstruct a better future for Steem, even for those who will be returning when the HIVE project collapses.

Of the things you mentioned, I believe the most important is "rewarding casual content that is more consistent to most social media" because we are not a professional, journalistic blog that pumps out superior quality articles. We have talented people, but in essence, we are simply an alternative social network, and should use the examples of other successful social platforms to make this a more welcoming place for people who already have an idea of what a social network looks and feels like.

But before that, we really must seriously address the question of how to clean up the abusive behavior that has always been a part of Steem; for which I have written:

Troll Hunters: A Community Curator Proposal
Decentralized Censorship of Social Media: A Democratic Approach

Sort:  

Well since steem witnesses and apps are freezing and blacklisting the Hive super users I guess we have to assume they feel threatened.

Otherwise I would agree. If you act scared, you look threatened.

Messing with people's stake is bullshit. I will not condone eitherside.

I would be ready to actually invest, instead of powerdown, but how do I know I will not end up with my stake frozen?

I see the freezing of those HIVE user accounts more a question of a kind of retaliation, as well as a countermove to stop certain accounts, like BlockTrades, from amassing STEEM and HIVE from people who are really clueless as to what is going on.

Messing with people's stake is definitely bullshit, and I will forever remain disappointed in the HIVE High Council, and their goons who knew that this could be done, long before Justin Sun appeared, and did nothing about it. They have forever disgraced Delegated Proof of Stake.

You're wise to Power Down, and maybe park your funds in LTC until we get some real clarity on this issue. You should Power Down your HIVE as well, and do the same.

I absolutely am powering down my Hive also. The DPOS system was compromised first by that team.

Absolutely! And I removed all of my votes from that system! Hopefully, this scandal will teach us how to make DPoS more secure; if that is possible! Because so far, we have proof that all you need is really deep pockets, and you can take over the system. I wonder if EOS is taking this situation seriously?!

They have discussed it. Block.one holds 10 percent instead of 20 % So, it seems like "controlling stake" is a strange justification.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64