You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Using Imagination to Create 3 Tessellations from 1 Stencil

in #imagination6 years ago

Incredible! The birdies are my favorite, so cute! :D
I find this kind of fill in shapes exercise hard :P Not sure why haha. Also I'm having trouble figuring out how you assembled a cut square into a tileable pattern xD
The most useful activity for me has been visualization meditation ^^

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment!

I find this kind of fill in shapes exercise hard

Yes, I know what you mean. At first, my mind was stubbornly refusing to see anything concrete in the abstract shape. It seemed like once I told it that's what I wanted it to do, it said "nah".

You are actually not the first person to mention about how the stencils are made. So it sounds like that's going to be part of my next tessellation post, yay! Please stay tuned :-]

(As much as I love making origami, tracing stencils is a lot easier on the wrists. However, I will be finishing up the origami journey before long, I know it went out on hiatus! @ ivan-g has got the origami on lock down too, BTW.)

Also, big THANK YOU for sharing the term, "visualization meditation". I was unfamiliar with it, so I looked it up after I read your comment, just before typing this reply. I used the visualization meditation called "metta" or "lovingkindness" as described in this mindbodygreen.com article. It was a powerful experience, I feel invigorated and calm at the same time.

Take it easy :)

Thank you for sharing the link :D
The visualization that I practice is to look and then visualize the object as perfectly as possible. Or to imagine something new and think of it as detailed as possible as if real :D This is more handy for art. The one you linked is great for performance ^^
Can't wait for your next tessellation post!

Thank you for pointing out the distinction between the two kinds of visualizations, that's very helpful for me because I'm exploring new activities and ways of doing things I already "know" how to do (like make arts and crafts).