This is my entry for the #imageskills challenge

in #imageskills6 years ago (edited)

Yosemite Falls 0.jpg

Yosemite Falls

Bluefinstudios has posted an Imageskills contest, asking entrants to post an image demonstrating the use of a photography skill, in this case, Leading Lines.

https://steemit.com/imageskills/@bluefinstudios/leading-lines-contest-imageskills-contest

Leading lines are a basic technique of composition in photography. You use lines in the photo to help direct the attention of the viewer to a particular element of the photo.

The image above was taken January 2016 at Yosemite National Park. The road leading from the bottom of the picture naturally leads your eye to the main focus of the picture, Yosemite Falls. This is reinforced by the framing of the trees, and even the line made by the upper falls leading to the lower falls. All the elements of the photo direct the focus to the central element.

SF Street BW.jpg

San Francisco Street

This image was taken during the same trip as the one at Yosemite. This also uses a road to direct the viewers attention, but in this case there is no particular element that is the focus of the image, instead the road itself is the focus of the picture. It is meant to convey a sense of motion and travel.

HDWA  17-744.jpg

Fire Tower - Hercules Glade Wilderness

While roads are frequently used as leading lines, any line can serve. In the image above the tower acts as a leading line to pull your attention up to the stars.

Photography is often an exercise in problem solving. You find something that catches your interest, and search for a way to present it to the best advantage. Leading lines are a common and powerful tool to do this.

Safe Travels
signaturescott.png

Sort:  

I am currently browsing through your wonderful, breathtaking and fascinating photo series.

It is so amazing what beautiful landscapes there are to discover in the USA.

@anutu and I will hopefully set out in the near future to embark on our own journey to discover, explore and experience the diversity that exists in the United States.

Many thanks

@oneofsteem

There is so much here. Almost too much. When you get to the US, let us know, we would love to travel some with you.

Gladly, thank you for the offer; we will gladly accept it once.
Somehow we have always been attracted to the USA - there will be a reason.

The photograph of the fire tower is so amazingly gooooooooood. I love all the pictures but that one is so special. It has so much atmosphere!!! Beautiful!

I had never been to a place that was so dark! I couldn't see my hand infront of my face!
Ren

But an AMAZING picture, I wish I could shoot such a picture without seeing the hand infront of my face :) wow, even more impressive. I think I would not even find the button on the camera to shoot it :)
xx

I dont know how he does it. I stayed in camp cuddled up in the hammock.

Hahahahah, yes, I would do exactly the same :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=xcountytravelers
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=this-is-my-entry-for-the-imageskills-challenge


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The first image for the challenge (Yosemite) doesn't look so sharp and turned out, I like the SF one more :) Good luck with the challenge! :)

I just love the San Francisco one as well. However, Scott loves the first one. I like that he decided to talk about what leading lines were. He is stepping out into the education world and I am happy to see him branching out.
Ren

wow the Fire Tower is my favorite!!!! that is exquisite Scott!!!! :)

Thanks. I'm pretty happy with that one myself.

I love all of these, @xcountytravelers! I am especially fond of the Fire Tower! That is amazing!!! I would love to know how you captured the night sky so accurately?

Thank you.

Star Photography was what first interested me in Photography. I should probably write a post on how to do night photography. Its easier than you probably think, as long as you have a reasonably good camera.

These are gorgeous photos! I like the top one especially. Waterfalls are my fave.

Thank you. After stars, waterfalls are my second favourite thing to photograph.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45