I Am That

in #illustration6 years ago

iam(forgrey1).jpg


It isn't a place I can easily access, but I've had moments of effortless knowing, that who I am – my most essential, spiritual self – cannot be measured nor defined using language created by the human mind.

Beneath the incessant need to analyze and understand – between the disjointed ideas and tangled emotions – below the ceaseless buzz of my logical mind, lies a pristine, untouchable stillness – an enveloping silence – a universal energy that cannot be tarnished nor destroyed.

Sometimes, I remember – it is only the surface that shifts and strives and strains. At my core, nothing moves – nothing wants – nothing is lacking...a perfectly empty nothingness full of possibility; the beginning of all that is.


Ballpoint pen, mostly continuous line – sketched while traveling somewhere in India in 2010.

Sort:  

Simple truth. Yes, we are that.

Followed and resteemed.

Your reflection reminds me of this quote by Sri Maharaj, "wisdom tells me I am nothing, love tells me I am everything, and between the two my life flows." If you ever get the chance I really recommend reading his book "I Am That"...I think (based on this post and how I think you perceive this world) you will get a lot out of it <3

Thank you @Zameena-zen! <3

I read 'I Am That' whilst in Kathmandu, several months after sketching this. Talk about a heavy read! Worth it, but WOW. One must be deeply present while taking in those words. I had to read many pages several times.

Wow! the image summed your words before i even read them. there is something very organic about it (not just the fact that its an image of a person) but that it looks like a cell, with a thin membrane, and a buzzing ecosystem of even smaller organisms - your ideas and thoughts - chaotic but evenly spaced... <3

I know this feeling
Amazing illustration too

Beautiful, @zipporah... Both the drawing and words. Visual and lyrical wisdom... Thanks for sharing those <3

Grateful to know you appreciate it @zyx066. <3

The design remind me of different neurons inside a brain reacting to a thought of self expression. Possibly even, Who are we? The incredible thought provoking neuron responding question that I like to search every day high and low to find the answer. Thanks for sharing with us. Excellent work!

Awesome reflection @gray00 – it does resemble some kind of energetic flow amongst neurons. ;)

Life, I'm sure, is an endless movement towards the answer – whatever that may be for each of us.

An illustration is an example or a story which is used to make a point clear... what you did you in your drawing... great job....

Ohh we are indeed the space in between thoughts

I love the prose and idea together with the image.

so ham


That means „I am“!

Just be
In the moment!

Great post!!!!
So true.
You are not your thoughts!!!

Hugs

Well that is something isnt it. Amazing work. I think this could work amazing as a sculpture of some kind. Yeah, a wire sculpture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53