The process of my Iluustration 1.

in #illustration6 years ago (edited)

Hello hello hello everyone


嗨 大家好
Today I am going to tell you guys how I finish an illustration
今天我要给你们介绍一下我画插画的过程
This piece of my art is one of my homework assignments called Conceptual Portrait of Guest Artist with Figures
Our professor wanted us to create a conceptual portrait of a selected guest artist,incorporating the guest artist's likeness as well as an approach influenced by their presentation,in mediums they use,or similar in effect. Also, include a minimum of three figures from their artworks,or actual artists who influence them in narrative or symbolic context of the conceptual portrait.
这张作品是我家庭作业的一部分,我的教授要求我们选择一位我们邀请过的插画家,并且根据他的风格和他使用的媒介给这位插画家画一幅肖像。
Therefore, I picked up Johnny Dombrowski, who is an award-winning illustrator working in New York city. We have already met him through the skype, he showed us his influences and his illustrations, and I really love his art works, especially how he chooses what color to use and his own strong style.
And this’s his website link.
http://www.johnnydombrowski.com
所以我选了插画家Johnny Dombrowsi, 一位来自纽约的艺术家!我们曾经在Skype上和他视频聊天过,我超级喜欢他的插画,不仅因为他使用的颜色很吸引人,也充满了极其浓烈的个人风格。
以上是他的个人网站。

The step of drawing


Firstly


I thought Johnny Dombrowski seems like a mysterious and cool guy, and his tattoo on his arms looked really awesome and impressed, so I decided to draw him as a magician from the dark area, here is the sketch for it.
作画步骤
首先,我觉得插画家本人超级酷,所以我决定把插画家的形象设定为暗黑魔术师。
IMG_0225 2.jpg

Secondly


I decide to use the same medium as Johnny’s works, so I decided to use Photoshop, and my pen was Wacom, which was suitable for the Wacom Cintiq 22HD 21-Inch Pen Display Tablet, Black (DTK2200), and then I transfer my sketch to it and reedit the sketch with it.
其次,我选择和插画家本人用一样的媒介,就是用photoshop去完成整张插画,我用的笔是影拓的,和影拓的数位板很般配。
IMG_0226.jpg
Snapseed 3.jpg
And this is the final drawing without color, the reason I chose Lily flowers for the background was because Lily flowers were often white and represented purity and loveliness, so I wanted to make a contrast.
我选择百合花作为作为背景是因为百合一般代表着纯洁和天真,但我想制造一个强烈的对比,比如血腥百合。
partern.jpg

Thirdly


I think it was the most difficult part to me, I needed to consider what color to use and how it could base on the model's character, and I wanted to make the magician looks mystical and unique. Therefore, I looked at Johnny's illustration and made a decision using blue and purple for the dominant hue.
第三,也是我个人认为最难的部分,我需要决定整张插画的主要色调,后来我通过参考插画家本人的插画,我决定使用蓝色和紫色。

Fourth


It was the time for the dark and light! I think it was the most interesting part because dark and light give the drawing spirit.
You can see the subtle difference between them.
第四,光影时间!我认为光影是一幅画中最有趣的部分,光影赋予插画灵魂。
未标题-1.jpg

Finally


It was the final edit! I have created over 40 layers , those are very convenient for me to modify and categorize.
最终完成!我用了超过40个图层,因为这样方便我编辑和分类。
18Win-Baobao-Li-ILLU505-Michalowski-A5-Homage-Rev.jpg

I know it is not the best illustration but I will do my hardest next time, I am very glad that I have influenced by Johnny Dombrowki, and thanks my professor gave us a such great chance talking with him!
我知道这张插画不是最好的,我下次还会努力,我很开心我的教授让我们和插画家视频聊天并且学习他们的优点,感谢!

Sort:  

This is such an amazing illustration. I knew you worked really hard on it but this really puts emphasis on just how hard you worked! You did a great job! How long did the illustration take you to finish in total? How many hours do you think you spent?

Thank you, I think spent over 8 hours, do you like illustration? who is your favorite artist?

my favorite artist is my gf :P

The process is so interesting and the final product is amazing! Great job! I don’t know why you said it’s not the best illustration.

Congratulations @milou1993! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59