Process of My Illustration 2 - MY First Try: Watercolor

in #illustration6 years ago (edited)

^-^Hello, hello, hello, everyone, today I am going to tell you guys the process of my illustration and how I started to use watercolor, and what I have learned from it.

This is the illustration I've done with using watercolor.
未标题-11.jpg

The drawing is one of my homework assignments, and the our professor wanted us to conceptualize a portrait for the guest artist with icons and elements, and create a conceptual portrait of a selected guest artist, incorporating the guest artist's likeness as well as an approach influenced by their presentation, plus, in mediums they use, or similar in effect. Also, incorporate icons and/or elements prominent in their work.

Therefore, I chose Kevin McCloskey and decided to draw a portrait for him. We have met and talked through the Skype before and he was really a great illustrator and nice person with kindness and humor, the picture is from his children's picture book called The Real Poop on Pigeons.

Hero-Artist- Kevin-Mccloskey-3.jpg

I not only like the color and composition of it, but also I like the pleasurable and relax atmosphere by it. The illustration's medium is actually gouache, and gouache is what I need to use drawing the portrait for Kevin McCloskey but I didn't find it in the store so I decided to use watercolor, to be honest, I've never used watercolor drawing any picture, so I was certainly a little nervous, but as soon as I started doing it, I got used of it and found a lot of fun from watercolor!

Those are my brushes and watercolor, there are 12 different colors in the small box but I think those are enough for me finishing the illustration, but the white color has depleted rapidly because I used it a lot to make the color looks more like gouache.
未标题-11副本.jpg

Also, about the idea and composition of my work, I want the guest artist Kevin Mccloskey looks like a friendly and fun person and an animal lover, so I drew an eagle on the top of the picture and eagle's talons grab Kevin Mccloskey to help him flying, and you can see there is a pair of fake wings on Mccloskey's back, further more, there is a colorful parrot on the bottom of the picture, which represents hope and happy.

Further more, as for me, Illustration is a very important part of children’s books especially to young readers, because pictures could influence young readers intensely and helps the stories more vivid and dramatic.
At the last, I hope my illustration could bring happy to people, and encourage people to discover the colorful and beautiful world.

Sort:  

Good post...!
Follow me and visit my blog

Wow, great illustration!

I'm looking forward to the rest of your posts about watercolor. I've been wanting to try it out but wasn't sure where to start.

Thank you! and I suggest you should start drawing fruits or flowers with watercolor for practicing! you will love it!

You put a lot of thought into the illustration! It’s both cute and meaningful!

This is still one of my favorite paintings, I love the combination of colors. Keep up the goodwork baby!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59