You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "IFC S1: R35 - Catchup Entry" Creative Minds

in #ifc6 years ago

Hi @erh.germany

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Please dig around in your memory and share what you find ;) I think it is helpful to have prompts like this to access those memories we may not use as much.

Yes, my whole post is completely 'authentic' :) The memories all true. I have a lot more I could have added, but these were the powerful life lessons that taught me and influenced me the most. I wanted very much to give the message that the creative mind holds great value.

You're right, that teacher gave the greatest lesson. The teacher I had the following year was just as influential. I'll go ahead and share - hope you don't mind (It's just a shame not to share important events and people). On the last day of school, this teacher dressed up in a tuxedo and brought a beautiful, hand carved podium to school. He didn't say a word to anyone entering into the class (not a typical characteristic of his) - he was usually talkative and a funny teacher. His demeanor this day was one of seriousness and almost sternness. The message was well-received as the class sat down and refrained from talking. You could have heard a pin drop. Our eyes darting around the room at each was the only activity as we were looking to each other for an explanation.

Then he stood in front of the podium and out of the silence he began to read a piece of literature with so much emotion and intensity that we were startled into total engagement. Soon, we became fixated inside his words as the inflections and pitch of his voice rose and fell until they were clashing around like a storm....real tears emerged, trembling voice, veins emerging from his flushed face....then a deep breath followed by silence. It was as if whatever occupied his body had just left the theater. He stepped from behind the podium and peered into all all our eyes with a calm, whisper...."Do you understand?" He made his way around the room, "Did you feel it?"

He returned to the front of the class and said, "I dressed up today because this is our last day together and I wanted to leave you with an impression of the power of literature because I know when you leave my class at least one of you will remember this...at least one will take this with you and hopefully I put a fire in your belly." I don't recall what anyone else thought or said after that. I only know that I was moved beyond words and impressed by the power of literature....creativity/human feeling.

The power of the spoken word, when delivered through a genuine and authentic source - uninhibited - was very powerful and I don't think I've ever had that experience since. And given that literature could mean that much to someone that he would dress up in a tuxedo and give such a powerful production of emotion (RESPECT) on its behalf, gave it great value to me. I looked at literature differently after that and I always thought of Mr. Hornstein when I was forced to read something I didn't want to read ;) He raised the bar for sure.

Important 'stuff'. That 'spark' we pass on to one another through our own joy ;)

Please find that memory and share. I do love reading human stories.

Sort:  

Oh... I am overwhelmed by the power of this story. What a teacher... I also sat there in the classroom and could only marvel and feel touched by the exuding energy of this gift to the students and myself. I knew I would forever keep it in my heart and accept love of expression as something that is real and can be awakened by people who carry the depth of the living message.

Thank you so much sharing this. I think you know exactly the importance of it ...

...

I haven't even come close to having a similar experience. I can only give you a sad, yet very powerful memory. The week before my mother died and was in hospital, I brought some things from home from her bedroom. Her hymnal, some of her books, a framed picture. My mother was dying, I knew it. She didn't want to eat any more, but my sister kept spooning her the disgusting porridge. My mother, who had her spoon to her mouth twice sickened, barely able to speak, suddenly stopped, pushing my sister's arm aside and just said, "You, will eat!". This decisive gesture expressed so much, these three words were the clear message that she had decided. I could not believe that despite her smashed body, she radiated this power and was still able to convey a spark of humour. A few seconds of astonished silence passed and then my sister and I broke out laughing. My mother had set us free. She took the burden off our shoulders to wish us that she might live on. She was strong and beautiful at that moment.

Later, when she lay dead in the chapel, I witnessed the over 80-year-old neighbour leaning down to her, giving her a loving kiss on the mouth and saying: "My dear Lindachen, I will miss you". These two women hadn't been friends, my mother had never really talked well about her and in the decades of living next door I had never seen a warm hug or a friendly chat over the garden fence.

And yet... People who seem neither warm nor friendly... are.

These old women have worked in their gardens and have always gained from the living what it was good for.

Oh Dear @erh.germany ......your words and depth of feeling so potent as I read your memory. You transported me there with you as you were re-living these moments. Yes, very moving and powerful - the human spirit and these moments that you catch a glimpse of the true essence of love. I am so grateful that you decided to share this very intimate and special memory (even though so sad).

I think that when we are walking through these moments where we are so vulnerable and raw with emotion that we are forced to release ourselves to it without filter or control....all else falls away and we are left with only 'truth/love'. At these moments our hearts are completely 'open' and unfiltered by our minds and the beauty that we are is able to communicate through a much higher language.

I am so sorry about your Mother. We have also been through 5 deaths these last two years....the impermanence of life/this body it seems is unfairly distributed sometimes....yet I know this body is only but a temporary home for the soul. I find comfort in that but it is truly amazing how one person's energy in a family is part of a familiar song and once they pass, the song is so different.

What a beautiful moment for you to witness of your mother's neighbor. She must have admired and loved her (that had to bring you so much comfort). She let down her guard for your mother - that is so sweet. Makes you wonder what her story is that she would be so guarded in her life, yet deeply caring on the inside.

I want to express my condolences for the many deaths you have suffered. It is a great task to remain strong about this and to accept that we are finite beings. It helps me to think and contemplate what gifts the deceased left us and what good influence they had on us. But not to transfigure them about it and to remain realistic. I notice that deaths cause some people to idealize a deceased... which I understand as a kind of compensation. Death should be more present in my modern society. It is often carried out outside the everyday and this shows me how anxious we are towards it.

I am glad to see that despite these difficult times you remain faithful to yourself and seem to have found a way to find inner strength.

My heart is with you.

Thank you, @erh.germany Thank you so much.

Interesting that you should mention the gifts of the deceased. That is exactly how I have come to peace. I had that moment in 2006 when I realized (after a loved one had died) that love doesn't come into our lives to ruin it or make us forever sad...it is a gift...to be loved and to love someone.

But these last couple years....whoa! Hardly enough time to catch our breath. I am very grateful that we have finally found our 'new normal'.

Life does return, we do smile again....thankfully ;)

Blessings, @erh.germany

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29