"IFC finals - first round"

in #ifc6 years ago

I really enjoyed this! So did my kids :) I started a little late in the contest but amazingly made it to the Finals and I'm trying to remind myself this is about having fun but somehow the word 'finals' gets in the way ;) So much fun finding all the items.

This is my entry for the IFC Finals first round.

Clouds/Reflection

Animal/Crystal/Garden


My little backyard friend(s). She says, "Hi IFC!"

Pyramid/Rainbow

Garden

Plush Toy


Ms. Mina (Ms. naughty) ;) Easy peasy photo op - just throw a paper bag down and she's in.

Guitar

Bridge

Gold Coin

Star

Tattoo

Mask

Rainbow

Castle


Real 'mini' castle in the Biltmore Forest (big Castle) - Wasn't able to get that photo so mini castle is the next best thing ;)

Wizard Hat

Alien/UFO


No Legos were harmed in this scene. Okay, so I got a little carried away! LOL

Shout out to @apolymask and all the sponsors/judges that are supporting the IFC.


PS @jbreheny - I am so happy that you are in the Finals! I wish you luck! And I wish all the Finalists luck.

Sort:  

I enjoyed all your photos! I feel like there is a story behind a few of those snaps that I definitely like to know more about, like the wizard's hat and the place that you took pictures of the clouds/reflection or the pyramid.

Oh my gosh, @plushzilla - You are soooo perceptive! LOL Yes, there is! I was actually going to make a post today called, "Backyard Antics does IFC Photo Shoot" regarding how the squirrel and crystal occurred - very cute story.

The guitar is my husband's very first guitar - was a nostalgic moment bringing it out again (a million stories attached) and has been in storage for a while after years of searching for a few replacement pieces that are hard to find).

The Legos are revered in this house and I was given 'special access' (negotiations did take place) to the thousands of pieces collected over the years - I was originally going to set a scene of drunken aliens (orange slime the result of too much) so I needed specific 'goblets' (tiny goblets) but in a sea of thousands of Legos that idea quickly faded and was replaced by a Star Wars/Mario/Spongebob defeat of an alien invasion ;)

The wizard hat was found at a theater prop boutique and we had a ball there! lol At the risk of being kicked out, I had to finally tell the person working there that we were on a photo scavenger hunt.

And that first photo of Reflections was an accidental 'aha' moment. This was a small space between two buildings that I originally photographed a few days before the finals began so I knew I had to go back to get that shot again. Several things came into play - would the sky look the same? Would a different time of day interfere with the reflection. I also needed white puffy clouds to make the photo which is rare. The interesting thing about this very understated space between the buildings is that from a distance and different perspectives it doesn't tell a story - you don't get this effect. It is largely un-noticed. You almost have to be pulled into it with interest and stand in a certain spot to 'see' this scene. I knew I had an interesting shot but it wasn't until I got home and pulled it up on my computer that I fully realized how powerful that image was for many reasons. One the camera itself saw more than I saw standing there, two the freaking amazing artistic quality of architectural vision when intermingled with the natural world and three the surprise that those little funny looking humps on the roofs were 'mountains' - I didn't see this until I was getting ready to post the photo - It's a mountain scene with a river running through it against an open sky. This photo really opened my eyes to a whole new aspect of photography and architecture (which I have never been drawn to that much).

The pyramid I took at the Arboretum here. There's a succulent garden on a rooftop that had some structure that I remembered being a pyramid but I wasn't entirely sure. It didn't matter though, I love spending time there and I was alone so I could stay until they closed which is basically dusk. As it turned out, it was a pyramid and what the photo doesn't show is an AMAZING setting sun behind some monstrous cloud formations...visualize concentrated sunlight streaming out in all directions along the fringes of the clouds (they almost looked like they were catching fire on the fringe where they met the sky). So this was the setting of the pyramid shot and the sun was reflecting off the glass of the pyramid no matter where I stood - blinding and COLORFUL. I didn't bring any other lenses with me either so I didn't know what I captured. Again I was surprised when I pulled it up on my computer and saw the little rainbow reflection - I guess the pyramid became a periscope and prism of light - bending it. Pretty cool! I also overstayed and got locked in the Arboretum - :)

Oh I love it. Haha. Those moments where ordinary things become extraordinary are indeed magical. Good job on the photo it's really impressive. You can even enter that in the photocontests by juliank for architecturalphotography. :D Looks super fantastic. ♥

Great work! That building picture with reflection is great! I'm glad you involved your kids, I'm sure they loved it!

Wow, they are some seriously awesome photos there! The first one with the reflections and clouds is really an amazing shot!

Hey there! I haven't been responding to the posts yet cause I'm waiting to respond to them all officially around the same time.. But.. I noticed this part and wanted to leave a quick message.

"I really enjoyed this! So did my kids :) I started a little late in the contest but amazingly made it to the Finals and I'm trying to remind myself this is about having fun but somehow the word 'finals' gets in the way ;) So much fun finding all the items."

That's super cool you involved your kids! :) One of our other players brought his lover along and they had a fun adventure as well! So that's super cool for me to hear how people are bringing others with them to go on a fun little adventure. :) I definitely hope to do many more of these challenges in the future over the years if it all works out! This is a really good one in my opinion. :D Thanks for sharing your story! And I'll respond in more detail later when I respond to all of the posts officially.

Yes yes more soon! Haha. I now know how to do it better! :D

Oh I like that clouds reflection photo the most! ♥ It's like... just wow.

And you have a gold coin? What? I should design some coins and have some gold coin made already. Lol. Soon soon. Anyway will read the story of the pics on your comment. Haha.

I have beginners luck and then it all goes down hill from there ;) Here's the quick story on the gold coins - my kids came to me a few weeks ago with them - apparently the water vending machine spit them out in change - is that not crazy? Maybe we should have gotten more water? :)

Whoa, that's weird! Hahahaha. Summady must have put it in there. Accidentally or not it's still a gold coin. Lol.

Nice pictures! Seems like you struggled less then me! I'm no musician so I had troubles finding a guitar lol

Yeah, the guitar was an easy one - probably 4 in this house LOL Tattoo....now that was a hard one on my list and you see what I did ;)

Fun contest, @kryptocek. I can see why it was so popular and I think it's a really good way to get people out and about and thinking creatively. Hope you do more in the future.

Ahh damn you could have sent a few my way! I had to go to my friends house for the tattoo lol!

Yeah it's fun for sure maybe in the new season we will get more Scavenger Hunts running!

Hey, if I had known, I certainly would have!

Great fun! :)

At least you got all the items and in to the tie breaker!

Had a productive and nice day today ;) Ha! Working it! Great fun I'll have to share the story when this week is done - worth a laugh.

This post has received a 16.08% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

That first picture is awesome. Where is that? What is it? A bridge, a walled in walk between buildings? It is odd looking. So melted orange sherbert? or what killed the aliens? And you found an actual wizard hat, simply amazing.

Reflections was an accidental 'aha' moment. This was a small space between two buildings that I originally photographed a few days before the finals began so I knew I had to go back to get that shot again. Several things came into play - would the sky look the same? Would a different time of day interfere with the reflection. I also needed white puffy clouds to make the photo which is rare. The interesting thing about this very understated space between the buildings is that from a distance and different perspectives it doesn't tell a story - you don't get this effect. It is largely un-noticed. You almost have to be pulled into it with interest and stand in a certain spot to 'see' this scene. I knew I had an interesting shot but it wasn't until I got home and pulled it up on my computer that I fully realized how powerful that image was for many reasons. One the camera itself saw more than I saw standing there, two the freaking amazing artistic quality of architectural vision when intermingled with the natural world and three the surprise that those little funny looking humps on the roofs were 'mountains' - I didn't see this until I was getting ready to post the photo - It's a mountain scene with a river running through it against an open sky (at least my interpretation). This photo really opened my eyes to a whole new aspect of photography and architecture (which I have never been drawn to that much). And I took this shot on the grounds of the NC Museum of Art.

Orange Slime! The Legos are revered in this house and I was given 'special access' (negotiations did take place) to the thousands of pieces collected over the years - I was originally going to set a scene of drunken aliens (orange slime the result of too much) so I needed specific 'goblets' (tiny goblets) but in a sea of thousands of Legos that idea quickly faded and was replaced by a Star Wars/Mario/Spongebob defeat of an alien invasion ;)

Both of those were great, That photo though award winning shot.

Wow @bashadow...thank you so much for that compliment. Truly - thank you

Are u on steem.chat? I have something to tell u. Hahaha.

Oh! I just saw that Steemit has a chat! ahaha You've got me so curious. I'll check it out.

Oh. Hahaha, yeah I don't have Discord so I'm only on steem.chat. :D Will send u a msg soon when you're all set up or something. :)

I think I'm setup. A whole new world just opened up. Interesting! LOL

I know right?! It should be entered in a photo contest immediately! Hahaha. Wait I think I know where aside from here in Steemit.

Just officially went over your entry and you got them all! Good job. :) I enjoyed your finds, some were very creative! The alien picture at the end made me laugh! Also cute squirrel and cat! And nice anonymous mask and wizard hat! :D Thanks for playing, glad to see you doing so well. ._.

Glad you enjoyed the alien picture LOL :) And thank you

Beautiful photos...
so clear and real.

Thank you, @kenneth1

I really enjoyed taking them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77