Unleashing My Creative Mind on Steemit - IFC S1: R35

in #ifc6 years ago

I wasn't exactly sure what to expect when I first signed up for Steemit.com. I knew that I was going to start blogging as a way to assist in supplementing my income as I started living full time in a travel trailer. My wife was actually the one who found Steemit while reading up on a full time traveler Facebook page. We watched several videos and both thought this was an exciting platform to start our "blogging" careers from. What we didn't expect were the many directions and opportunities that have presented themselves here on Steemit. So what does any of this have to do with unleashing my creative mind on Steemit? You're probably also asking yourself, how many times can this dude say Steemit in one paragraph?

I considered writing about one of the greatest creative minds in history Leonardo DaVinci or writing a semi scientific post on where creativity originates from or hell, even writing about the Law of Attraction and the effects of thought and mindset on the world around you. Instead I decided to go with a more personal approach. I thought to myself "Self, you're a fairly creative dude why not write about that?" So after a 10 minute conversation with myself which kept getting sidetracked and derailed (cause apparantly that's how my mind works) I decided to go ahead and do just that.


I wrote my first poem when I was probably about 8 years old. Since I didn't have any money and wanted to get my mother and grandmother something for Mothers Days this just seemed like the way to go. Something that was heartfelt, took time to create and with love poured into every word. This eventually became a habit. Not the kind of habit where one would need to seek professional counseling, outpatient services or a methadone clinic for crying out loud, but a habit none the less. Every year for birthdays and holidays, the matriarchs of my family would get a handwritten poem which sometimes included a drawing (My talent does not seem to apply in that department).

When I met the woman whom I now call my wife (@juliabreheny) we began a long distance relationship and this is where my poetry really shined (shone?). She is now a kept woman all due to my ability to rhyme words and form semi functional sentences. About 2 years ago I took all of the poems that I had written to my wife and self published them through Amazon and CreateSpace. I sold my first 2 copies the same day the book went live, I was so excited. Three days later my wife gets 2 copies of my book in the mail. Sigh, oh well she always has been my biggest fan.

Here is a link to my book "The Heart Sings Love on Amazon.

I also have a small talent for writing lyrics and music. This is something I started doing around the age of 12 after learning to play a few songs on the guitar from my father. Unfortunately recording technology is something I never got into but was lucky enough to meet a few individuals who liked my music well enough to record some of my songs. Although the recordings are not professional I believe they've captured the mood of the music fairly well.

Here is a link to my mini CD "Rough Around The Edges".

My wife @juliabreheny also recently did a video of my playing a song I wrote nearly 20 years ago but never recorded which I was quite surprised I was able to pull off because to be frank, I have forgotten how to play many of the songs I have written.

Here is a link to my song "Planet Home".

It has been quite some time since I have created. I haven't written a single poem or lyric in well over 5 years and easily 2 or 3 years since I've even created an original riff.

I have decided to change that and will be creating more music, lyrics and poetry and am excited to have an avenue to share those creations.

Here's a little proof that any artistic talent that I may have did not extend to drawing. A picture of my first car from when I was just a wee lad. Don't laugh to hard you might piss yourself.

My First Volkswagon.jpg

Special thanks to @apolymask and his awesome @InformationFindingChannel and the IFC contests which I seem to be quite addicted to.


Sort:  

Thanks for entering! Great entry! You are very talented my friend! Good luck this round, you have a great shot being the only entry so far! ;)

Don't forget to tag this post in the comment section of the Round Post.

I always do well in contests where I am the only participant. :-D

Lol!!! That's the best way to look at it!!!! Love the humor! You all be safe and enjoy the first day of the rest of your lives!!!!

It’s now day 4 of the rest of our lives. It’s been quite an adventure so far. We’ve got some shorter trips coming up and will be seeing (and sharing) some beautiful scenery.

can't wait to see the photographs!!! although i do not know your family on a personal level i am sp happy you all are able to do this!!! So many people allow fear to keep them safe in a place they don't want to be, I've been that person myself, and i know I've said it before, but soon enough i will be on the road!!! The scenery alone is worth the adventures!!! be safe!

You just have to set the goal and do it. Fear is a total bitch and will eat you from the inside out if you let it. I can't wait until the day when I can follow YOUR adventures!

Hive Bee trail comment.jpg vote.

Great entry!!!! You definitely have shown your creative mind to us within the ifc! Once you get going on the road you'll be more free to create!!!

Thank you @charisma777, I'm hoping the quality of my posts are getting better. I'm certainly enjoying these contests as they have forced me to sit and put my thoughts to paper (uh, internet).

We just hit the road today and both my wife and I are posting (the goal is daily) on our adventure.

Awesome post!! I'm glad you entered and your entry was about your creative mind! I'm sure I'm not the only one that would like to read your poetry too! Looking forward to it!

There are a lot of great poets here on Steemit and I believe following them and reading their work will vastly improve how I write. A lot of inspiration here.

100% man! Lots of inspiration! One of the reasons I love this place!

I think this was a good way to go creatively. Anyone can do a Leonardo Da Vinci is one of the most creative people of his time post. But only you can tell about your creativity. Very nice and creative post.

Thanks BA, Now I don't feel like a selfish schmuck. LOL

Glad to see someone entered this round. :) Cool entry too! You sure are a creative guy who does a lot of different things! I think that's important and healthy in life and I want to learn many more things myself in time. I like the drawing as well! I can't draw worth anything, I can't even do stick figures well, lol. But.. Maybe some day! I believe in the ability of anyone to learn most things if they set their mind to it and drawing is something I would like to learn. :) Also that's cool you're going to focus on creating more! I look forward to seeing what you create! Thanks for another great entry!

I am a firm believer that each and every one of us can cultivate the talent for anything if it's truly what our hearts desire. I'm actually fairly proud of that drawing and maybe 2 others I've done in my entire life. I never really put any time into it. Many people will say "oh I could never do that, I've tried and I'm just not that good." What they don't realize is the work and passion that the people who do it well have put into it. Yes, some things do seem to come easier to others but I believe it's because of an internal passion for that particular thing.

You my friend, I am certain, have some incredible talents and I would love to you post on some of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93