A Boy, A Guitar and A Space Oddity! IFC S2R17

in #ifc5 years ago

A few nights ago we went to the community firepit at the campground we are currently living/working at. Of course, being that it was a campfire I brought my guitar along. One of my co-workers' sons, a fifteen-year-old boy took an immense interest in my playing. I asked him if he played and he told me he did not but wished that he could.

Since we will be here for the entire summer I asked him what his favorite song was and he couldn't give me an answer. So, I told him to write up a list of his favorite songs and together we would pick one from this list and I would teach it to him if I knew it or learn it and then teach it to him.

Another co-worker had a guitar that her ex-husband had left and she lent it to Ethan (the aforementioned fifteen-year-old) along with a book teaching how to play tablature. That night I taught him how to play his first chord (an Em) and told him to practice that with his newly borrowed guitar. He told me that it would be "the coolest thing ever" if I could teach him a song this summer and I'm always down for being a part of someones "coolest thing ever".

I found out the next day that Ethan had a learning disability which I never would have guessed because he picked up the Em chord I taught him with ease. I think music just might end up being the thing he can relate to.

He finally told me the song he would most like to learn is "A Space Oddity" by David Bowie. Great song and one I surprisingly never learned. I do happen to know that the Em chord is present in the song so we've got a little bit of a head start there.

This is all very recent so we won't know the results for a little bit and I do expect it to take some time because there are a lot of changes in "A Space Oddity" but I am excited to teach him the song and see the joy it brings to him.

Here for your listening pleasure is the song "A Space Oddity" by the late, great David Bowie (R.I.P. Dave!)

OMG, check out that hair!


Calling all writers, bloggers, Steemians, people of the internet... We need you!

The Information Finding Championship (aka IFC) needs you, to find, share, collect, divulge, disseminate, etc, INFORMATION by joining in the challenge.

It's not too late.

Only ONE win is needed to make it into the finals.

So join us. Whet the stone. Sharpen the blade. Entangle the noodle.

BRING IT!

ifc.png

Image courtesy of the IFC

Sort:  

I always wanted to learn how to play guitar but I always gave up after a few weeks. I've tried several times and never followed through. Teaching someone to play Bowie is awesome though. I hope it works out. Keep us posted :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I will definitely keep you posted. Maybe I'll play the song and record myself playing it and post on here.

Congratulations @jbreheny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

What a cool story! Warmed my heart to hear. :) I hope you're able to teach him the song and even if it doesn't work out I think it's awesome that you tried! And also awesome that he was eager to learn something new. Should be a memorable experience for the both of you hopefully!
I just listened to the song and that's a good one! I listened to that one quite a few times growing up while working with my father who often had the radio on. Some fond memories there. :)
Great entry man! I thoroughly enjoyed it and think the world would be a much better place if there were more people interesting in teaching and learning artforms with each other.

PS.. Oh I see you got a curie too! Nice! Congrats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23