You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom and the export of democracy - IFC - S1 : R32 entry

in #ifc6 years ago

I intend to elaborate on some of the ideas in this post in a future post, about potential "upgrades" to democracy. However, my fear is that in the disappointment in our current system, that we discover too late that better is not necessarily the natural direction of evolution from our current state. As always, the path to disaster is paved with good intentions.

Cryptography can aid in making elections transparent and can also aid in the finer graining (in time and in intent) of our voting abilities. However, there are dangers there as well. Coming from a country where voting is compulsory (a civic duty), I still see problems there, in that it assumes an informed and educated voting public (educated in how the civic system works, and what the party platforms are actually offering rather than information by advertisement).

Blockchains by design, at least when backed by enough computing power or stake, are technically incorruptible, or at the corruption can be detectable.

I enjoyed writing this entry, although I fear I missed the point of the quest! Anyway, I hope to complete another post that better addresses the points that I hinted at....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65692.16
ETH 3511.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53