You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IFC S1 R38 entry- Motivations in Learning a Second/Foreign language

in #ifc6 years ago

What motivates me? That is something I am struggling with right now. To be honest, my job isn't what I thought it would be like as I finish up the first year through my program. I thought coming to teach in Korea would be a really meaningful job and I could be a memorable teacher. Long story short, I made more significant impacts teaching back in America.

That's a bummer to hear. But perhaps you can take that newfound knowledge and help propel it to where you want to go next, which I'm sure you've probably already considered.

A lot of times, I find myself motivating students extrinsically, through prizes and candy. Is that the best way to drive students? In my personal opinion, no, but I am trying my best to get students wanting to learn. It is one of my personal philosophies (I can't remember where I read it now) that a teacher's job is over when the student can teach themselves.

I don't think extrinsic motivation is all bad! That's sort of how this IFC game works. And steemit, and the real world economy in general. And just.. Basic life.. Like.. I'm hungry.. I need to go find some food and eat.
I think if you work rewards into it like candy and stuff, that can help! Especially if you're students are being a bit uncooperative or difficult. I think the more fun you make learning, the more people learn.
Also I like what you said at the end there about a teachers job being done when a student can teach themselves. Ima have to remember that one!

Oh and.. I think ultimately.. It's all kind of intrinsic motivation, even if it's a new car or food or sex or whatever it is you want, it all starts in your mind. I think we would be wise to try to have the proper balance of such things if possible.

That is what I aspire to; I want to leave students with a desire to seek more understanding.

That's awesome man, and highly admirable. :) We need more of that in the world in my opinion.

People told me that I suck at Korean and I can't be a good teacher, so I worked my ass off studying and taking whatever opportunity I could to prove them wrong and here I am now. I guess, proving people wrong is also a form of intrinsic motivation for me.

Well said! I'm very similar.. :) I love showing people wrong who doubted.

Well, that is how I try to motivate students in the class and how I try to drive myself.

Word, geat work man. Thanks for sharing! I also appreciate the Shia Labeouf video. Heh. That's a good one. Excellent entry! Sorry for the super delayed response, I'm so overwhelmed trying to keep up with all this. Hope all is well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54