8 years ago I swore I would never do this again. Here's to breaking promises! -_-

in #idol7 years ago

Today I decided to do something kind of crazy... and to be honest I feel like I'm going to be sick!

"Hey- vulnerability- leave me alone right now, I'm in the middle of something!" -_-

I am an introvert and therefore being "out there" is a terrifying thought. When I was younger (8 years ago to be exact) I had a mortifying experience singing in public (like very public) and it's been a struggle for me to even sing out loud ever since which has been heart breaking because I love singing and without it, I feel like I'm missing something magical in my life. For all of these years, I have at max sung along in the car, maybe in the shower, maybe this "fake" voice I made up so people could never judge my real voice, but otherwise I kept my mouth shut. Today, though scared out of my mind, I decided to change that and sing to you. Maybe I'll even tell you the story about it one day ;)

That experience crippled me. That's why I'm doing this- we can't let fear have so much power over us, can we?

I decided to face my biggest fear and sing my little heart out to you all!

SINGING FOR AN AUDIENCE!

I hope this inspires you to do something you're afraid of! My stomach is quite literally turning, my mind is telling me to turn my computer off and walk away before I share my voice with the public again.

Just to amp up the volume on that fear-facing I'm doing, I decided to do this by auditioning for a competition on here called Steamian Idol hosted by @vocalists-trail.

By the end of my video, I'm flustered and completely bail on trying to tell you what's going on (I thought about cutting it out but decided it was too funny and love how it makes me laugh every time I see it) so what I meant to say if you liked it, upvote, resteem and comment to see me through to the next round! <3

Full (steem) ahead! Onwards we go! "I think I can, I think I can..."

i think i can steam-it.gif

Thanks for being here with me
XO,
celenesignoffnew1.jpg

Sort:  

You have a beautiful voice, Cece. I’m glad you overcame your fear and shared that song with us. Thank you!

A pro tip for the future: when shooting a video with your smartphone, do it in landscape format, not portrait.

Thank you so much! You're making me blush! I have never videoed myself like that before and was having some pretty interesting technical difficulties trying to do this but decided to just go for it and get it up here before I got too scared to post :P I'll check the settings and see if that helps next time. Thanks for always being a bounding ray of encouragement, your support is endless and I am so filled with appreciation<3

do what you love to do

Thanks for the inspiration @joeyarnoldvn :) I'm working on doing just that!
XO,
herat-to-heart

"I can't help falling in love with you"

It's okay! I can't either. Beautifully sung! You have an amazing gift and the world could benefit from hearing more of it :)

<3
Thanks for your encouragement, it means the world to me! I'll keep trying :)
XO

You did great hope for the best.

Thanks @farhanali :) My goal was just to get it out there and now it is so all I can do is smile :)
I appreciate your support!
XO,
heart-to-heart

Your voice and your face are so expressive. Made me smile :) I'm slowly building the courage to share my voice, too. Thanks for sharing!

-_- (I'm blushing) Thanks @cobloc - I love this song, guess it shows =D
Don't be scared like I was- I wish our culture didn't put so much negativity on singing... it's a gift and ancient traditions encouraged its sharing. I encourage you to keep trying even if it's slightly outside of your comfort zone +) I'm rooting for you!
XO,
heart-to-heart

Thank you. This place is so welcoming and positive...

Beautiful performance! Up-Voted and Re-steemed :)

Yay! Thank you! The encouragement makes my heart sing :)

Great entry! Lovely voice, love that song! :)

Thanks so much @wishmaiden, I really appreciate the encouragement :) I love it too! <3 I really appreciate what you're doing here- I think it's a wonderful initiative! Thanks again xo

Everyday, do something that scares you. This used to be on a sign on a building opposite my workplace. Thank you for taking the courage to share something like this with the world! :)

I love it! It should be posted everywhere, shouldn't it? I think if we all crawled out of our comfort zones more, we would see a lot of changes in this world! I'm all about supporting that and encouraging people to set their fear aside and be free of it! Thanks for sharing this with me, it's lovely :)
Hope you have a great day, I really appreciate the encouragement!
XO,
heart-to-heart

Do you take requests? We want Love Me Tender.

Haha anything for you @drakos
:)

Keep doin ya thang!!! I upvoted you. It's only about a dollar.

Hey @alao thanks so much! It's the number of upvotes they care about to advance into the next round anyway and as for me, I am just happy to hear from you and know you watched it! :)
I really appreciate the support, it drives the courage :)
XO,
heart-to-heart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68