Remembering pronouns.

in #identity5 days ago

1000038733.jpg

I've heard the argument that it's not hard to remember a person's pronouns for close to a decade now.

First of all, I'm pushing forty. I haven't met a trans person in my general age bracket who wanted to be asked what his or her pronouns are. If you actually want to trigger a trans person, the quickest way to do it is to show that you're oblivious to how that person identifies.

Second of all, there's no level of "woke" that'll make anyone believe that you naturally referred to a person with neopronouns. There's no way that you referred to Ezra Miller as "they" without him telling you to do so.

That comes to the most important thing. It's not that pronouns are hard. It's that you're demanding that we lie.

To this day, Amber McLaughlin is reported as the first trans women to be executed. He identified as a man while he was stalking his ex-girlfriend. He was identifying as a man while he stabbed her to death and raped her after her death. He was identifying as a man for his first decade in prison awaiting the death penalty. He only identified as a woman when the state decided to allow him to petition to be housed in a woman's prison.

Fucking murder me. I don't belive that Amber McLaughlin was ever a woman. I refuse to use his pronouns.

The problem isn't with us being too stupid to remember pronouns and be nice to people. The problem is that you're trying to force us to lie.

I'm cool with being kind to people. I always try to be kind to people.

I won't lie.

Sort:  

Someone said it out loud!

Kudos to you for your kindness...

Great post & you are 100% correct.

I won't lie either!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42