You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Idea: Distributed Meetup Database built on Bitmessage

in #ideas8 years ago (edited)

YES!

Write those ideas! Share them, may they fertilize the world of your dreams!

So sir,

Would surely like to talk to you about this and my take on it. Basically though: I don't think that bitcoin is a suitable chain for this. However, there are lots of blockchains these days. If you can't do it on one, no reason that it couldn't be done on another. The real-world nature of your concept makes a geospatial database very interesting for this application.

Sort:  

I didn't mention bitcoin? But you see how bitmessage is a ready made platform for coordination signalling without having to code a new system.

I am not sure what I can do right now about it, I still need to try and rescue my water damaged laptop screen. But steemfest is in 5 days, maybe I can find people amongst the attendees who want to make this happen :)

99% sure that bitmessage is called bitmessage because it uses the btc blockchain.

Could be wrong though .

nope. bitmessage uses proof of work as a spam limiter (like hashcash) and dht for connecting nodes. Bitmessage blocks have a limited lifespan and are deleted after their TTL expires.

I could be wrong but I am fairly sure it preceded Bitcoin by not very long. It is basically blockchain but not immutable.

CORRECTION: the design was based on bitcoin. But it is not built on the blockchain.

that looks interesting but I wasn't thinking of it being precise location or even verified. Just as a way to quickly discover where steemians nearby might be who you can visit or gather with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26