Idea giveaway - grocery stores

in #idea7 years ago

smart_vending_machine_781x512.jpg

This just hit me! Grocery stores run completely on vending machines. Maybe implement a new type of vending machine that is cheaper to make and thus cheaper to purchase. You could cut down on labor costs by only needing to hire people to restock (probably overnight).

It'd be more convenient for people as it would cut down on checkout lines plus you could reduce your prices since you have to pay less in labor. Also more convenient in this world where people don't want to have to interact with other people. i.e. talking to the cashier.

You'd want machines that run only on credit because ain't nobody got time to count coins. Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Believe it or not, but I think this was actually done in the 50's. I seem to remember coming across a grocery store that attempted to do this. As you can imagine, they were ahead of there times. I wish I could supply the link to the article I read on this.


SDG

I wanted to do this to Target, but with auto-restocking. Similar but a smidge not a vending machine.

You should consider an art concept for this project :)

I didn't know that auto-restocking was a thing. That's pretty amazing and would make this idea way better! The store could basically run on it's own. Oh man, next level...drive thru vending!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49