ICOs Fees... WTF?

in #ico7 years ago

It's not going to be as easy as I thought it would be. But then again, nothing worth it is easy I suppose.

I am absolutely shocked by how much it costs to buy into an ICO. I had no idea that the "gas" that you have to enter to facilitate the transaction would be worth more than double what I wanted to invest. For example, I was looking at the Bancor and DCORP ICOs and was already planning to turn my small amount of Bitcoin and Ethereum into a fortune.

Before I could hit send, a small error message popped up indicating I was short on gas. (This actually happened to me last week driving across town too, but I digress...). I took a look at the gas cost and my jaw dropped. I calculated about $10,000 to get a spot for Bancor and at least $4,000 to buy into DCORP.

Needless to say I missed the boat. Luckily I managed to jump in on Aeternity somehow (yay)! So perhaps not all hope is lost.

Why are the fees so high? Is it a mechanism to keep the little guys out? How do we get a piece?

Also, can you justify the entrance cost? Did you bite the bullet and buy in? Have you gotten lucky with an ICO?

Curious to know what all of you Steemers think!

Sort:  

so far the only ICO i have bought into is Zappl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27