ICO Scammers are back - Slack Channel Scam messages!

in #ico7 years ago (edited)

This morning when I woke up I did my usual scan of what I had missed on my mobile overnight. To my surprise I saw a message from the official iota #slack (iotangle) channel stating the following –

We are currently running a new marketing campaign. As such, as a thank you to our contributors, we are sending 5000 mIota free to everyone.

Please login to Myetherwallet.com and claim yours.

Please make sure that you have at least 1 completed transaction on your wallet for the tokens to be claimed.

Thank you for being part of our team,

The FIOTA network management.

Still dazed by not being fully awake I initially thought “wow that’s cool”, then as the fuzzy sleep cloud moved from my nonce I realized “you don’t get anything for free!!”. Therefore I decided to just ignore it and get some breakfast. Then about 7.30am another #Slack message arrived, this time from the SIA group, saying they were giving 1000 coins away (exactly the same message as above just a different coin value and signature). Obviously I ignored this message too but was curious and decided to check out a few of the other ICO channels I frequent and sure enough many of the other groups had the same message.

Basically another major scam is happening, when you click the link in the message you will be sent to a fake site that will trick you to enter your details, effectively giving the scammer access to your wallet! This is similar to the other scam going around that asks people to check their wallet for errors by clicking on a similar link.

Be careful people, always type the wallet URL yourself instead of clicking links from any media. Some people will be tempted to take up an offer for free coins especially during these low #crypto times! Stay safe and use your brain!

icoscammers.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post, Upvoted!!

Thanks for the Help, Upvoted!!!

Thanks :)

Pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64511.14
ETH 3405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30