You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The SportsPodium Ambassador network

in #ico7 years ago (edited)

I was number one in South Africa in junior age groups in tennis. We had great talent in the country but no one made it to the top internationally as pros. Why? Because of money. Somehow there was just no matching up of top talent with sponsors. Some tried to emigrate. In other countries like France, they helped the guys from a young age, financially, and technically with coaching.

So we were competing against them. Even the great weather in SA (only one indoor court that I know of) couldn't help us conquer THAT obstacle! There are exceptions of course like Kevin Anderson. He went to college in the United States. Maybe a good intermediate step to get what you need. But imagine if he had gotten the right support at a younger age.

Sort:  

Please stay in touch...I would really like to speak with you regarding this. Follow us on twitter and I will follow back and we can DM. Just @christiansmit me in the tweet so that I get the notification as well. Thanks.

I am related to Chani Scheepers. I know what she had to do and what her parents had to go through. They literally sacrificed their lives, got no government support. I always wonder how many even less fortunate than her just disappear. I believe it is a disgrace. With what we are doing not only are we going to shift the balance of power, but we will enable sports people to take control of their lives

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65