Why I invested 10 Bitcoins into the BetKing ICO

in #ico7 years ago

If you haven't seen my tweets or Facebook posts then you may have missed my announcement that this month I have invested 10 Bitcoins into BetKing's ICO. The majority of my Bitcoin investments to date have all been in Bitcoin Gambling bankrolls and this investment is similar in that it is an investment in the potential future bankroll profits of the site. However, the Bitcoins invested in BetKing will be converted into tokens that I will (hopefully) be able to trade on exchanges in the future to realize a nice profit.

If you are new to an initial coin offering (ICO) the definition from google nails it:

An Initial Coin Offering, also commonly referred to as an ICO, is a fundraising mechanism in which new projects sell their underlying crypto tokens in exchange for bitcoin and ether. It's somewhat similar to an Initial Public Offering ( IPO ) in which investors purchase shares of a company.

BetKing Bankroll Token Crowdsale Key Details

  • 100,000,000 BetKing Bankroll Tokens will be created as Ethereum ERC23 tokens.
  • 70 million will be for sale to crowdsale participants.
  • 30 million will be retained by BetKing for ICO bounties (1%), testing bounties, advisors, hiring, future marketing and development.
  • BetKing Bankroll Tokens can be purchased with Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin and Dash. All funds will be held in cold storage.
  • A percentage of the profit made from bankrolled games will be used to buy back BetKing Bankroll tokens from holders.
  • Every quarter BetKing will offer to buy back up to 10% of a holders tokens at the current buy back price.
  • The crowdsale started on the 7th of August (00:00 UTC) and end on the 4th of September (00:00 UTC).
  • There is no cap on the total funds that can be raised.
  • There is no minimum amount needed to be raised for the crowdsale to be successful.

You can also visit ico.betking.io for the full details and to make an investment.

Why did I invest in a risky ICO?


Before I explain that I really enjoyed Andreas Antonopoulos quick talk about ICO's below:

I have to admit I share his general view of pessimism for ICO's and this is why I have never invested in one before. I think 95% of ICO's are very dodgy with no real potential to make money for investors.

The difference with BetKing to me is that:

  1. It has made a lot of money for investors in the past (myself included).
  2. The owner (Dean) has a great reputation and has never scammed an investor or player.
  3. The BetKing product is proven to be desired by crypto gamblers and has attracted a huge volume of players.
Although the BetKing ICO might do really badly (i.e don't take anything I say as advice!), I feel like this is the first ICO I can definitely get behind and of course I have put my money where my mouth is.

BetKing Investment Picture

What is BetKing again?


I did interview the founder of BetKing in June 2017 before the ICO launched and he shared some interesting insights into the site. BetKing from September 2014 to December 2016 was the biggest crowdfunded Bitcoin gambling site on the market. In that short period it made 7,391 Bitcoins in profit and had the biggest crowdfunded bankroll of 6,000 Bitcoins.

At the end of 2016 BetKing was taken offline while Dean was planning something bigger – he wanted to expand from the #1 dice site to the #1 gambling site. During this period, Dean gave the bankroll investors back their money (many sites have run off with such a large sum in the past), making him one of the most trusted gambling operators in the crypto space. Since then Dean and his team have been working to create a new platform that includes more games, more cryptocurrencies and an application platform that will allow other people to create games on top of it (think Moneypot). Most importantly for investors, the bankroll will now be launched in the form of an ICO!

I made a 45% return on a Bitcoin basis on my old BetKing investment in just four months last year, and I really look forward to this site launching again!

Sort:  

That's a big bet!

Go big or go home!

I have heard quite a few times about BetKing now. It seems very promising and worth the investments. Hopefully it will become huge! Nice to see you invest so much into it :)

Thanks @trendo lets see how it goes! I first invested in the old Betking site over a year ago now and was really happy with it. Wrote about it all here - https://bitcoingamblingreviews.com/bitcoin-gambling-investment/

Good luck on your investment. And thanks for the info. I'm interested too. I like your thinking, and agree, that this is probably an ICO you can trust, in terms of it being a viable product with a trusted operator.

My only reservation is whether it will be better to buy into ICO or wait for the tokens on market. Will keep my eye on it.

Good call - not sure if/when it will be listed on an exchange.

many icos making good roi so its nice to invest sometime, and if you are into gambling and know this staff,then its good to support coins what are in gamble,because you potentially understand more than average investor. Sad part about ico, they dont accept fiat, if people accept fiat(usd,euro) much more newcomers will invest.

Yeah I haven't looked too much into why they don't accept fiat but I suspect Dean (being based in the UK) would probably have legal issues if he did.

If ICO's did accept fiat the crypto space blow up even faster. Who knows it might happen.

First time I hear about BetKing. It is difficult to follow all news about new ICO's and some insides about project in general. Thank you for sharing it with us, I will definitely have a closer look to it. Who knows maybe me I will decide to invest too :)

It is a really interesting one, especially given it was making millions before the ICO.

That's a very Huge Amount after seeing about this ICO and have seen many post about this on steemit looks like it has great potential for sure :)
have a great day :)

Let's see!

Yo ,
Thanks for sharing

@btcmillionaire sorry to say but I didn't like that type of scheme because we are generally trying to to redepositing end of the last site is gone scam. Sometimes before o had loss something 1 btc which is bad for me. For my opinion cryptotrading is best.

Kind of confused with what you are trying to say here?

Sorry @btcmillionaire I thinks it's like a ponzi scheme after your post I had researched about it. And it's reviews which is great and sorry for that.

It's definitely not a Ponzi scheme. The way the ico is structured, i.e you get more discount upfront is a bit lame in my opinion but bankroll investing is most certainly not a Ponzi scheme.

Amazing investment. I hope you succeed!

I hope BetKing succeeds!

@btcmillionaire I recommend that you enter https://wcex.co/?ref=urq1g3D you will get 50 free WCX Tokens and 15% if you want to invest, this currency is now in the PRE-ICO stage and is the best time to invest!

Will pass on your recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54