ICO - Scam or Great Investment

in #ico7 years ago

ico-steem.jpg

China has come out strongly against Initial Coin Offerings and while there are many theories around why, I have to ask, "Is it a bad thing?" I mean let's face it, there are many 'pump and dump' alt coins out there. Those that are made solely to be sold through an ICO, then for the developers to take the money raised and run.

If cryptocurrencies are to take their rightful place in the world they need to be trusted. Not only by the people who use them but by governments too. One of the problems with ICOs is that just like stocks and bonds, they're a gamble. The phrase "Caveat Emptor" is perhaps more relevant to ICOs than almost anything else.

The alt coin space is unregulated and, is a very good way (at this moment in time) to raise money and then just disappear. China is worried about the risk to its people and worried it will upset the social order. Of course as a disruptive technology alt coins and blockchain are designed to upset the social order.
China bans ICOs

Sometimes though, the social order they disrupt fights back.

If this ban from China and the doubts arising in Singapore forces token developers to actually provide a true alt coin with a clearly designed use, that would be a good thing.

If I'm going to invest in a new coin/token I want to know exactly what they have planned. I want to see a clear use case for the coin. Something that's going to be useful to me and others, something that has clear benefits that I can find no where else. I want to see clear and transparent communications between the dev team and investors/potential investors. I want to be able to ask relevant questions and get actual answers, not 'political' ones. You know, like when you ask a politician and get an answer that's not an answer but which sounds good, until that is you think it through.

I want to know that there's a way for me to petition for specific things to be included in the technology. A clear plan to promote and market the coin is also good.

In fact, there are so many things I want to see, that I end up investing in very few. As an example, On Social is a social sharing website/platform that shares ad revenue with its contributors. It works very similar to Facebook but without the manipulations that can be used by the algorithm.

In other words, if I use On Social just like I do Facebook, I get paid. It's not the same as Steemit though it is similar. It allows updates and articles as well as images and links. I can also share my posts with Facebook, LinkedIn etc. Will all Facebook users move over? No, it's not trying to do that (but who knows what the future will bring), but it does offer a clear benefit to me over Facebook. I do what I do AND get paid.

There are more of course, like Golem a token based way to get access to a 'super computer', you 'rent' unused computing power. Again, this one has a clear purpose aside form just being a coin. Built on the Ethereum blockchain both of these look good, would I recommend them? Not really because I think anyone investing should do their own research.

I use On Social and allow my spare computing power to be used on the Golem network, but you must do your own research and make up your own mind.

Back to China and its ban on ICOs, this could be a good thing, it could help curb the scams and ripoff merchants. if that happens then we could see a surge in useful blockchain based tokens and platforms and that, in my opinion would be a good thing!

For those who want to know How Crypto Tokens Work take a look at this Forbes article.

Sort:  

As you said, there are a lot of Bad promessing snd scam coin offerings. Maybe one of 20 ICOs are worth the invest, the others are used for pump and dump and will die soon.

I think its no Problem to ban ICOs - China has not banned cryptos but only a very spekulativ and risky kind of Money raising.

I

Yes a good idea to regulate ICO's. Too many see it as easy money and this is new way for scammers to scam people.

Agree with researching any coin before committing to purchase, if you are in a long term.

The pump and dump quick buck makers will still support what ever rises, and drop it when it falls. Another way of making money.

Good and Bad in everything, personally being new technology I prefer to support those doing something to improve the world in one way or another.

Thanks for an insightful article @berolena

What's ICO? Fundraizing of some startup, right?
Statistics tells us, that around 90-95% of all startups (doesn't matter, is it linked to blockchain and tokens or not) are failing to develop further.
Before investing in ANY startup or ICO, you should accept this statistics.


Scam ICOs is something different. But you can figure it out from their whitepaper or after chatting with the team a bit.
And yet, people will always be stupid. Want proof?
Here it goes https://uetoken.com/
Even existance of this token means a lot.
Checking the amount contributed proves the point of human stupidity

Yes, people will always believe they can get something for nothing, then complain when it seems they can't.

everyone wants to find "MONEY" button =)
you click it - you earn =)
but it doesn't exist!

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 3.23 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @sydesjokes, @sydesjokes. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow!

The story starts with anonymous payments. Country like China is a very good option for transaction plus most businesses is illegal. So is a normal to keep try to control that type of payments. In another side ICO-SCAM can be find legal option to prevent that. The problem is China dont wana handle this.

I would call it as "genuine investment opportunity"! The future is in the blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64197.36
ETH 3181.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49