Ice, Ice, Ice ... and some salt

in #ice6 years ago (edited)

Those photos were taken a week ago already. Situation has improved a bit since then. This is on our trip to the Oksval harbor at Nesodden.

Here is some stairs. Some dangerous stairs. Worst thing, I didn't have gloves, and holding to that handle bar with naked fingers in -10C is ... not much pleasant. But the alternative is so much worse ...

Quiet today, but we've had a combination of much wind and very low temperature. In such conditions, there will be quite much water splashing over those walkways, and the water will freeze.

We call it "icing", and it can be quite dangerous when being on the sea in a boat. The ice builds up on the deck, on the mast and everywhere. It may add up significant amounts of weight - so much that the boat may tip over. Unless it's possible to find a sheltered harbour, the crew has no choice than to get out on deck and try to remove the ice with whatever tools they have available - a work that can be very dangerous, considered that there will be lots of waves, that the deck is really slippery, and that falling in the sea may be a certain death.

The water is supposed to be without sea ice on the inside of the harbor, as they have installed a bubble system - but water clinging to the ropes etc is freezing easily, interesting effect.

This is not ice - this is salt! During the bad weather, the boat has been sprayed with very small particles of seawater. As the boat is warmer than the air, the water has vaporized.

This picture was taken today. We've had a week with fairly mild weather, so it's not as impressive as it was a week ago.

All photos available in full quality at IPFS QmZVz9drdXdZCUysVzGDErQiX4GB1ThFgcf6RWfMAgKLMz. Licence: CC by-sa 4.0

Sort:  

I don’t like this kind of slippery snow at all , I’ve to be very careful when I walk/bike 🙄, can’t wait for spring . May be I should share some pictures from Oslo on steemit soon :D, after seeing your ones x

Bike with good studded tires ("piggdekk") and you have far better grip than when walking!

Then again, there are also those metal spikes that can be attached to the shoe ("brodder") and allows for (relatively) safe walking on the ice.

There is another problem that I've seen relatively frequently here in Oslo - Freezing rain, when it has been very cold (or is very cold), but anyway it's raining (rather than snowing), the rain freezes to ice as soon as it touches the ground, and it becomes extremely slippery. A bit similar phenomena as icing, except the water comes from the sky and not from the sea :-)

(picture from wikipedia

Oh yes , I bike in this snow cause of stuff related to my work . I’ve slipped couple of times but I bike slowly and carefully . But in the end of the cold and heavy day I just go to sauna with beer . But in general , is sauna very popular in Norway ? How do Norwegians come over with winters :o I wonder x

No, saunas belong to Finnish and Russian culture, but not Norwegian - it's relatively rare to have saunas at home. There are saunas in the swimming pools, but not that many people are using them. In some of the municipality-owned swimming pools in Oslo they have nice Tylö-ovens, with signs over them: "don't throw water on the ovens, they may break from it".

I used to live in Tromsø, and I had a good sauna with a wood-burning oven. I was once hosting some students from Finland, they had a transit stay in Tromsø, coming from Longyearbyen, Svalbard - they had been freezing there for half a year without having a sauna. In Longyearbyen it's very cold, but as it's a Norwegian settlement there are very few saunas there! Those poor frozen Finns were so happy to get defrozen in my sauna.

Thats so nice of you for making fellow Finns happy :D. couple of my friends been to Svalbard too, I really wanna go there. I was close to Kiruna but weather was so bad and we didnt wanna risk to drive all the way to Tromso but I'll visit one day :D. First time I was in Norway just to meet some of my instagram friends :D Btw do you host travellers(like couchsurfin/Airbnb something like that ) :)?

I did a tour getting hosting from people I had met at Fidonet back in ... maybe 1994, I don't remember exactly. After that I started hosting.
Back then there were no sites like CouchSurfing, so I just made my personal web pages stating that people could contact me if they wanted hosting.

In 1998 the first guest arrived - and she's now my wife.

Around that time one of the first online hosting databases were created, it was the Hitchhikers Home Base. I signed up. I was living in Oslo at that time, and things took a bit off - at one day I had like 13 guests for the same night. I was renting and living with flatmates, so both the flatmates and the houselord was not much happy with the situation.

There were lots of technical problems with the HHB, and it was eventually shut down, the members adviced to join HospitalityClub instead, so I went there. HC is mostly dead by now, but it was the biggest all until CouchSurfing overtook it.

At some point there was lots of technical problems due to database problems. As I had quite some professional experience in tuning database servers, I reached out and offered to help. The person I contacted (listed as the tech responsible person) wrote back, he and some others had broken off with the HC owner and was starting their own site, BeWelcome. The problem they saw with HC is that it is indeed owned by one person, he decides everything and gets some income as well through google ads - at the same time the "club" is totally driven by volunteers. I don't know if the income on the site was significant or not, but the owner denied giving any information on that ... apparently that was the biggest reason for the split. BeWelcome is driven by an organization, everything is supposed to be transparent and democratic.

I'm still not a member at CouchSurfing, but I do get some guests through BW still.

Woow btw congrats ;D life is totally unpredictable isn't it :D, Thats a cool story , I love love stories. and I have heard of Bewelcome group but didn't go through that much.

Tack så mycket, ha en trevlig dag x

Amazing #walkwithme! Those stairs and the dock looked positively treacherous. The ice build up on the boat ropes was super cool too. Thanks for bringing us with you :)

Wow. Amazing pictures, makes me feel like I'm there.
Thats a whole different world.

That has got to be hard on the boats gear and running rigging.

running rigging

Ropes tend to freeze. I heard a guy saying that they never used the sails and always the engine in the winter time, as they did not enjoy fighting with frozen ropes. Personally I have more problems with mooring ropes ... but I've never been out sailing in such conditions (rough sea and very cold weather). Luckily.

oh my... this staircase looks like my nightmare xD
the photos with boats are just perfect!!! :)

snowy cities look nice. but it is harder to live. it is necessary to live with careful and necessary precautions. hard to live with icing. That's what I understand from your writing. What little spring is left. you need to have a little more patience !!! spring is comeing.

Icing is mostly a problem when being on the sea in rough weather in a boat - then it can be a very dangerous problem.

i can imagine how painful it is to be without gloves in -10C when i enter my hands in the freezer

Freezer keeps -18C, but it's a big difference between touching ice and touching metal.

Once in St.Petersburg I went from an apartment at the sixth floor, down to the car, picked up some skates at -20C, and carried them up to the sixth floor holding the skates by the metal. Not smart at all! I had marks after the iron on my hands for several days after.

Oh it's hard and not smart as you said 😲

Nice pictures, it is still winter in Norway, but Spring is coming soon. I like your pist and blog and will follow you😀

Great post!

Your post was resteemed by @knot - a blog designed to connect all sailors on Steemit,

If you'd like, join us on discord chat:
https://discordapp.com/invite/PyJwEtD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48