IBT's future - have your say, but for now it sleeps.

in #ibt6 years ago

Work!! who needs it? - but we gotta go and bills need to be paid :(

 ..It's a challenge - but for me life is also kindda crazy and I've been thrown some curly ones at the moment so as a result I'm struggling to find time to do things I love, like Steeming it and of course experimental bot programming for IBT :(

The good news is, there is still plenty of game relief and many people are gaining their Steem generating game fix from off platform games, here is a  fantastic example:

https://steemit.com/@steemmonsters

Some have said I should look to move off platform and develop skills this way and to be honest I don't think its a huge jump, but developing games requires real commitment and the rewards need to be there (financial and/or fun in the case of IBT).

IBT PVP FEEDBACK

The recent IBT was suppose to be integrated and launched with regular IBT, but it needed some testing (unfortunately I've found it hard to get testers and others who once offered support have slowly dropped off ) - So we went straight into Production with IBT PVP, and I'm still keen as mustard to hear how it it went.

I think it passed the test, but I'm keen for feedback - What did you think of PVP IBT? what did you like or not like about it.

...To be honest I was hopeful for more help and we could have pumped out a more polished product, but I failed to sell the vision. The code was good but I'm afraid my artistic skills are very lacking. Anyways something has to give and the result is IBT will slip down on my priority list and will likely sleep now..well at least until a brighter day.

Thanks to everyone who has given so much for our fun community bot driven game on steemit (especially key sponsors you know who you are). If things change IBT will be back (and I hope sponsorship as well - it's really fun giving away prizes and brightening peoples day!) - any feedback will be considered and put towards a possible distant future IBT... but for now IBT sleeps.

All the best

Sort:  

I struggled a bit with PVP. Scrolling back up to the reply button to play each time got a bit tedious for me. I prefer that the original had more of an end point, after your lives ran out at the longest point. Also you could just continue your battle in the comment thread.

Sorry, I feel like a negative Nelly now. XD

Posted using Partiko Android

That's ok - I'm just glad you follow along and gave it a go.

It needed allot of work and fell a bit short..To integrate the char build and leveling system into standard IBT is a fair bit of programming effort, but can be done, just time. I think it would work and make more sense then (the pvp bit would just be a optional round for fighting - as many players suggested they wanted more interaction built in).

PVP from a purely personal standpoint wasn't bad, but I preferred the original IBT. Maybe that's just because I'm old and averse to change, I don't know. The original IBT felt like it had more of the Interactive portion, whereas the new one was just fight & result without as much of the storytelling.

Don't get me wrong, both have their advantages, particularly with the introduction of RCs since HF20, but my personal preference is for the original.

Of course if and when it may come back after a hiatus, your original concept of combining the two would no doubt be awesome

The RC thing wouldn't stop me running the traditional one, for players whom have been on Steemit awhile...but yeah it would chew up too many comments for new players with low RC. I guess if we ask @doughtaker nicely he could do some analysis and work out the ideal RC a IBT community member would need to play and I could try to make it more lean around this or some how help them to join us (delegate SP)

I preferred the old IBT better as well. The new story every day is very cool and reminded me of a dungeons and dragons style game play.

Hey @lordnigel thanks for all the work you put into this, sorry it didn't hit the popularity you had envisioned. I had fun playing some of the earlier IBT's.

No worries mate - one of those things, I'm just struggling to get the time to advertise, recruit, develop, do the art, etc, etc. See how we go, just not for a bit

Cheers

I also liked the old IBT better. It gives levels and the new story line every day is awesome. It reminds me a bit of dungeons and dragons lol.

Cool! yeah I like it as well..I actually like playing more then I do building it some days..hehe.
I don't care about the prizes, just think its a fun thing to do...but yeah..

Hey Nigel, why don't you put an application in for curie support? I think IBT would be a good candidate.

https://steemit.com/curiecommunitybuilding/@curie/curie-community-building-support-application-september-7-2018

Thanks Choo - that looks like a fantastic initiative from Cure..If only other major stake holders would chip in Steemit could really rock.

I'll give it some thought and maybe give it a shot.

I guess If I had someone help me with enrolling players (I need a new community volunteer) and I knew the optimal SP amount each player/community member needed to participate, while still having enough to use the rest of Steemit, if curie provided some liquid Steem I could use it to powerup the community bot @wizardzap (this would double benefit the community). The enrolment volunteer would have to be willing to delegate to the íncoming members from the community bot and take on the player creation portion (with some cheats guide from me) - as I just can't manage it on my own.

Anyways I'll think and investigate how this could work.

Cheers for the great idea

Why don't you write a post asking for help? Or contact steemgg or whatever other gaming platforms might be on steemit? People like games, I'm sure you could get someone to help if you target the right people.

Hmmn gave it a shot with @curie, but not even a call back sadly. I'm sure there is allot to consider at the moment.

In the meantime, I have a few ideas in concept at moment...I'll post more and use what spare time I have to work on those - Steem on eh :)

I did post this in the curie channel where we discuss these things. However, with the price of steem, curie is reassessing its budget anyway so this program may get cut.

All good - I'm trying to re-skill to make things off the steemit platform (but use the steem blockchain). I have allot of ideas, just little time and sadly no support team now to develop them.
For the moment I'll work on my own with the mallsballers and improve our community bot - perhaps the skills I develop and the work I do here will help when things pickup.

I'll keep posting on Steemit while it lets me :) but for now my ideas in the mini game arena seem to be a no go.

Cheers for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75