Interactive Battle Tournament #3 - Proposed Map Name and Unofficial Theme Song

in #ibt7 years ago

In a previous feedback post that @lordnigel made prior to this tournament, I responded with some lyrics as a joke. The ensuing discussion went much further, and I was asked to come up with a name for the map that the IBT#3 participants will play on, along with lyrics to a theme song for this round of the IBT. And so I shall deliver, and @lordnigel (and maybe the prospective entrants as well) shall decide if what I'm posting here will be in use for IBT#3.


Proposed Map Name: Dadotoci

In the discussion I had with @lordnigel, I pointed out that it would be best for the theme song, if the map name met these requirements:

  • 4 syllables long
  • 8 letters long
  • no "W" in the name

I then went about trying to find foreign words and phrases that I could combine into a single 8-letter word to mean things such as "epic battles", "ass whooping", "butt kicking", "monster slaying", etc. -- things that the IBT represents. Unfortunately, the best 8-letter combinations I could come up with would've roughly translated into phrases like "land of many donkeys" -- not what I was looking for.

So seeing that this IBT would heavily involve the use of rolling dice, I decided to work around the word "Diceland". Not exactly epic, but a somewhat accurate description of what will be happening. And the end result surprised me quite a bit.

I decided to go with the Spanish word "dado", meaning dice, and the Japanese word "tochi" (土地), meaning land. I decided to cut out the "h" to end up with Dadotoci. The way to pronounce this is da-dō-tō-chi.

So, I made a name that sounds a little more exotic than "Diceland" but carries the same meaning. This sounded good enough to me, but a little more research revealed this tidbit: the written word "dadotoci" is actually a word in the Hausa language (spoken in some parts of Africa) meaning "crazy". Now I have no clue how the Hausa people pronounce it, but this find was very interesting.

So for the purposes of this IBT, Dadotoci translates into "crazy dice land" using its Hausa, Spanish, and Japanese roots. Now this is accurate. This IBT will have a lot of dice, and things are going to get crazy! =)

Now that I've proposed a map name, I gotta give you a song and some lyrics for consideration.


Dadotoci: The Song

My original joke lyrics were based off of parodying the 1990 song Monopoly, so it only makes sense to go all-out and parody the entire song, keeping the tune but changing the lyrics. So first, you need to hear the music and understand how the tune and rhythm go before you can actually sing along. Here it is, with credit to the Youtube uploader "Thanayuth JP.", who somehow managed to find the cleanest copy of the song that I've ever heard -- nearly 24 years after the song first aired on American television.

In my opinion, Monopoly is a cheeky, corny, and yet catchy song, all in one. Sounds like a perfect fit for the IBT! So now we just need new lyrics to sing along to...


Dadotoci: The Lyrics

D-A-D-O... T-O-C-I
D-A-D-O... T-O-C-I
Dadotoci, Dadotoci, Dadotoci, Dadotoci
D-A-D-O-T-O-C-I

Roll the dice... It's paradise! (Yo!)
But if you fail... you lose a life!
(Rolling through enemies...)

D-A-D-O... T-O-C-I (Yeah!)
D-A-D-O... T-O-C-I
Dadotoci, Dadotoci, Dadotoci, Dadotoci
D-A-D-O-T-O-C-I

Roll the dice... (Come on!) It's paradise!
But if you fail... you lose a life!
(I'm a just passin' by...)

[long jazz intermission, no spoken lyrics in this version]

(Gonna kill Gobbo now...)
D-A-D-O... T-O-C-I
D-A-D-O... T-O-C-I
Dadotoci, Dadotoci, Dadotoci, Dadotoci
D-A-D-O-T-O-C-I

Roll the dice... (Come on!) It's paradise!
But if you fail... you lose a life!
(Building up my inventory...)

D-A-D-O... T-O-C-I!
(Dadotoci!)


And that's a wrap!

IBT participants, you know the drill... leave comments for feedback, and upvote this post if you approve of Dadotoci as the map name and theme song for IBT #3! I'll see you on the battlefield!

Sort:  

Hahaha love it! from this moment on the Tournament Campaign map will be known as Dadotoci!

(although "land of many donkeys" would have worked as well :))

fun fun fun ...I saw myself dancing boogie woogieeeeee like I did with my father who loved this kind of grooves....

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the tune. Many of my favorites (including this one) come from either game shows or video games from the late 1980s to mid 1990s. Music just felt more authentic back then, as opposed to all the Autotuning we hear these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33