IANS Introducing @theBugIQ -- First Local to be Onboarded by Me

in #ians7 years ago

So back on Jan. 2nd I’d just had my power and heat put back on after it going out on me on New Years Day. The house needed some warming up from the rather chilly 30F it was inside and I needed something to eat.

I’m sitting in my vehicle warming it up, still in range of my home WIFI and ding off goes my Facebook messenger. It’s a local friend I’d not heard from in a while. He’s got some information he wants to share. Could we meet for coffee later? Sure thing, not only had I not seen him for a while, but more time for my house to warm up.

So, where else do you meet for coffee in Canada but the local Timmie’s? We get our coffees and settle into a table to start swapping stories. As I listened to the many things he’d been up to, the thought crossed my mind that he needed a place to talk about this.

Really, the fellow’s a talented musician, has a great sense of humour, willingness to chat, has more interests and ideas than I can count. Most of his design ideas would relate to the preppers and homesteaders who are growing in numbers on the platform.

I started sharing with him what I’ve been up to since August 2016. At first, I could see the puzzled look on his face and then the smile as he decided that he wanted to check out this brave new world of Steemit and cryptocurrency.

We talked about the platform. I told him some of the pros and cons, cautioning him to expect to need to grow before getting any real success on the platform. That would take time and effort.

That evening, he messaged me, could he have the link to the site I told him about? Sure thing. I sent it to him, but, failed to comment that he should ignore the Trending page. The next day, he messaged me again. What’s with these whale wars and flag wars on Steemit?

OH dear, I mentally kick myself. That DAMN Trending page!

I reassured him to ignore the Trending page and asked him to go download Discord. I’d introduce him to some real people on the platform. He gets it installed and needless to say, I invite him into the Steemit Ramble and explain Pimp Your Post Thursday that would take place the next day.

Then we hopped over to @thewritersblock and introduced him to the folks there. It didn’t surprise me they were very welcoming as they always are.

My friend decided to apply for his account. Whew, we dodged that bullet. Now, let’s hope Steemit doesn’t take too long approving his account.

The next day during PYPT that he’s sitting in on, he gets notice his account has been approved.

YEAH!! Steemit meet @TheBugIQ and the introductory post it only took him a week to write:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@thebugiq/you-don-t-know-me-yet-and-neither-do-I



He published that six days ago and since then has published six others. He’s on a roll.

Tuesday he showed me a post he had just put up that showed people how to find the mic for inputing text into a Google document. A great idea for entering the first draft of a post before refining with fingers to keyboard.

You’re almost setup to run some of your posts through The Writers’ Block workshops @thebugiq. hint hint

Saturday I introduced him into PAL through the @mspwaves forum with @aggroed and Sunday he joined @SirCork on the Steemstar Radio and then @beanz on her Steemstar Radio podcast on the VOTU server. Then I left him exploring.

Monday, I suggested he join @thealliance. @topkpop welcomed him into the Alpha syndicate after he posted his application post.

So, there we go. The first person I’ve successfully onboarded to the platform and it looks like @thebugiq is off to a great start. If you see him around, tell him hi and maybe give him a follow.

The SBD from this post will go to him to give his account a bit of a boost.


steemit ramble

Until Next Time — Just Steem on

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

Sort:  

I just wanted to say a huge thank you to @shadowpub for a wonderful intro and walk around and always being there to answer questions @sircork my clone and brother @beanz for my first boost, so exciting :D @globocop fun and enthusiastic @katrah usually first to read upvote and comment @topkpop for major enthusiasm and helpfullness @bluefinstudios for being warm and welcoming @disarrangedjane for living large like an exposed nerve, I love it! @seveaux great tunes bud and @somanyotherimmaforgetsoimmasorry

There are honestly so so many more who have given wonderful comments and feedback and I honestly feel like this is a platform that can be a new family of like minded people. The reason I never committed to youtube for my music and other interests was because there was no soul in it. No community.

Yes, I came in on a nasty flag war but like anything trying to grow and stay alive there will be issues. 99.9% of it has been pure joy to find a place to really give myself to and really create and unload the mountain of material I've been sitting on and wondering what to do with.

It took @shadowspub a while to get me to post and then I think people wished they hadn't pushed me to start lol

I in fact ran out of bandwidth and was about to try to buy some steem so I could post and @shadowspub was kind enough to surprise me with a delegation!!

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 10.45.51 AM.png

Thanks Minnowmama. I'm having a great time

I love being the first to give somebody that shot of the drug that hooks them! 😄 I got my first from @smooth and I know the effect it's had on me, and since my power is delegated from him I feel like I'm just passing on the disease of addiction. 😂

You're welcome!! 😜

Definitely hooked, I can see why you compare it to a drug. It's the most productive drug I've ever taken and I play on snorting a whole lot more LOL @ibeenbithard Thanks @beanz!! :D

Nicely written as always @thebugiq .. it's been fun watching you get your feet under you on here. You wont be long and you'll have enough bandwidth to sustain your level of posting :)

Thanks @pathtosuccess YES finally have enough bandwidth to keep up with me LOL :D :P

I shall have to go check that post about the goo doc thing. That annoyed the heck out of me when I tried voice input.

hope it works better for you @bex-dk. Anything that would make life easier for you is a win.

Yay! I love that you did this onboard post. The first official person you brought on board so way to go! Glad you introduced us, he is having a very fun time in Alpha right now and he certainly is a great guy, which doesn't surprise me in the least because he is a friend of yours and you are an amazing woman. Happy to have met you.

Hehe, I also must say I knew that when you were writing going for coffee of course there would be nowhere else to meet except Timmie's. 😀🇨🇦

well being the small town we are... Timmie's has only been a presence here for a few years. Glad that @thebugiq is having a blast and you folks with him. I knew he was going to be in good hands with you.

That is so nice of you to say, awww. Really? Only a few years? That's crazy! My mom lives in what I thought was a smallish town and ever since she first moved there back like 15 years ago for some reason they had a Timmie's. it's funny cause I always used to make fun of the place cause they had one right when you entered town and then one when you were leaving town, but could've been a big town that I think (although coming from Burlington/Hamilton area seemed small). Still, keeping the Canadian tradition alive, now if only the two of you would quit talking about Timmie's cause you all are making me miss 🇨🇦 Hugs to you

Awesome find, he's a great versatile talent. Fantastic addition to Steem!

I can’t wait until I’m able to talk about all this & be able to explain it to another person so that they understand.. I’m a lil to New for that lol , but I did enjoy & am learning every day! Thanks for the great read!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75