Last Night I Had a Crazy Hypnagogic HallucinationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hypnagogia8 years ago (edited)

If you've never had or heard of hypnagogic hallucinations you might find this story hard to believe until you check it out for yourself! (more info)

If you have experienced this state of consciousness, I'd love to hear about it.

Peace,
dan-atstarlite

Sort:  

I've read about the light switch thing. I've had some similar experiences. I enjoyed hearing about your yours.

That's happened me a few times. It's terrifying until you wake yourself up and I usually have to be terrified in order to make myself scream so loud that I wake up.... Thankfully it doesn't happen very often. One of the times I was convinced that something that was next to my bed was coming closer to me. I had to try to move to get away from it and that's when I realised I was paralysed and I was convinced that whatever it was beside the bed was slowly coming closer. It was terrifying. I have often opened my eyes mid sleep and that usually leads to that sleep paralysis. But I've been teaching myself to just not panic and that usually deters the hallucinations and lets me go back to sleep. But if I even try to force my eyes shut I can cause myself to panic lol.

Yeah, I know that feeling of the "being" next to you or in your bed, and all your senses seem to be heightened. I totally understand why some people believe they've been abducted by aliens lol. At least now there's tons of information about it online... I didn't have any answers until I read about hypnagogic hallucinations in my first year psych textbook. They're always a little scary when they happen... until you relax into it and then it can get pretty exciting.

Dude.. next time we hang, let's talk about this. I have experienced em many times. I do the same thing when I realize I'm having one. Get over the fear, how far can I get, what can I do. And totally true about light switches. Do you ever have interferers?

Yeah, we'll have to hang soon. Crazy that you get these too... maybe lots of people do but just don't talk about them much. What are interferers?

I think most people don't understand what's happening. took me awhile to recognize the signs etc. I find daytime naps are the most likely times to have lucid dreams or get Hypnagogic. From my experiences i find them to be pretty much one in the same. Even Sleep Paralysis is just an extension of the same state/experience. It's funny that you mentioned the bed thing. I almost always begin in the exact loc where I fell asleep.

Cool post. I had lucid dream in the past but never had hypnagogic hallucination.

I did had powerful mushroom trip, 7g+ more than once and they did totally change my life too.

Yeah mushrooms truly are magical in that respect

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62218.49
ETH 2445.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62