Amazing Grace - John Newton

in #hymns6 years ago

"March the 21st is a day to be remembered by me. I have never suffered it to pass wholly unnoticed since the year 1748. On that day, the LORD sent from on high and delivered me from deep waters." Amazing Grace has been a firm favourite with Christians everywhere for many years. I'm sure it will remain so. It is, after all, Newton's own testimony in song, telling the marvellous story of his transformation from spiritual blindness to sight - all through Grace. MI0000416697.jpgThe stanzas were composed from a grateful heart assisted by the Holy Spirit.

(1) Amazing Grace! how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found;
Was blind, but now I see.

(2) 'Twas Grace that taught my heart to fear,
And Grace my fears relieved;
How precious did that Grace appear,
The hour I first believed!

(3) Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
'Tis Grace has brought me safe thus far,
And Grace will lead me home.

The testimony of the hymn writer is an encouragement that God has never changed and will never change.
Hebrews 13:8- "Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever."

Story Source: The book - The Stories behind Great Hymns - James McClelland.
Image source: goggle

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this great hymn
Upvoted and resteemed.

FF

Thanx very much @sc-n.

What an amazing hymn? It's one of my favorite

May His amazing grace never depart from us. Amen

Posted using Partiko Android

His grace is always be with us despite we don't deserve it. Thanks God we are saved by grace.

Amen, thank you @izurich.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78