Mini Aquaponics Systems, My First Builds!

in #hydroponics6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone. I haven't done aquaponics posts for a while so I thought I would do a bit of a catch up. People always ask me what the best way to get involved with aquaponics there is soooo much to learn and it can all seem so expensive and overwhelming in the beginning. My initial advice, Start small.

20150803_223653.jpg

I made a few small units the idea was to use them to grow flowers as well as vegetables indoors in mini-aqua systems under artificial lights, I did plenty experimenting with the 'light balast'

20150620_094949.jpg

I used LED strip lights of a few different colours to highlite the colours of the fish which worked really well..

20150803_231137.jpg

I tried to make a wooden light shade in the shape of a water drop, it worked, sort of ;)

20150729_134717.jpg

Can you see the water drop ??

20150703_181041.jpg

Here we have a perspex tank which didn't work as silicone doesn't stick to perspex too well. The blue led lights add a different lighting perspective to flowers and plants which can look really nice.

20150703_181034.jpg

A little more progress manufacturing glass and perspex, glass wins.

20150802_120658.jpg

Another step in the right direction, I made an improvement of this system on the new one where I added gravel and rocks a plant or two in the tank which added some colour to compliment the fish.

20150810_122243.jpg

Here I drilled holes in the perspex with a 75mm hole saw to hold the flowers/vegetables.

20150731_190413.jpg

Not the best pic but nothing in the building process looks amazing..

20150729_205310.jpg

Many experiments many mini indoor systems the only draw back at this point was lighting. Cheap functional correct spectrum lighting really is hard to find.

20150906_172114.jpg

I also made this mini aqua mould for the lamp, which turned out rather nice especially when the light shines through it..

20150803_223638.jpg

The final product looking really nice. A very nice bright natural adage to any household and if you put leafy vegetables and herbs in here you have them fresh and on demand daily available, provided you have the right lighting.

20150810_140411.jpg

I trust you have the most amazing week and if you have any questions on aquaponics systems both large and small do comment below and I shall gladly answer them all.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Wow thats amazing! Very beautiful to have animals and plants together around us.
I love it, so I will resteem it :)

Thanks Darlin. . How have you been of late?? Cheer$;)

Just freezing in these cold autumn days lol

Oh no I'm guessing you in North America? ? Summer here in Africa very hot

Ah then you must be in South Africa? Well I am in north Africa in Tunisia :)

Yip thats correct what are you doing so far north?

Just busy with work and crochet. When it is hot I wait for the cold weather and now it became cold so I want to see the sunny days again :)

Your post always good and helpful I like it your post Thank you so much! @craigcryptoking

Thanks buddy. You should partake in my contests too coming up again this week keep watching. Cheer$;)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

this is definitely on my list of things I want to do..... But have too much on my plate as it is......

Awww you totally have to. .it's totally awesome. . And you get fish ;)

This is great! I absolutely love the fish tank flowers... it's so organic in it's little ecosystem. What type of blub are you using? I'm assuming it's a daylight blub?

Aww off shelf cfls cool and warm white but they not ideal. Any cost effective alternative ??

Some good ideas in there. Thanks for sharing. Did you ever find the correct lighting?

No mate still not and I see my marijuana leaves are now going yellow :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98