Please allow me to introduce myself

in #hush7 years ago

Hi, my name is David Mercer. My career stretches back for more than 2 decades, and began with building the first statewide Internet provider network in Arizona in the 1990s. Prior to that I was part of the cypherpunk movement, waiting for the internet to hit mass acceptance.

Since then I have worked on stock market trading systems, cloud computing platforms, large, multi-million user email systems, and some of the largest banking systems in North America, as well as with supercomputing and large private cloud management systems.

Last fall I started working in the open source Zcash ecosystem full time. I ported Zcash to the Mac, its first non-linux release, and to arm64, its first non-x86 version. I went on to port zclassic to the Mac and worked with the amazing @movrcx (Joshua Yabut) on the Windows version of Zclassic. After backporting those changes to Zcash for Windows, I was hired by the SuperNET project to port Komodo to Windows, and continue to support that release on a maintenance contract.

Most recently I was hired to do the Windows port of zdash, now HUSH. I also updated the HUSH linux version to track the upstream 1.0.8-1 version of Zcash, and have just finished a release of it that support bitcore extensions and the Insight block explorer.

Watch this space for upcoming HUSH news and my roadmap for it in the next few days.

Cheers,

David Mercer
Tucson, AZ
[email protected]

Sort:  

Hi David, welcome to the community. What an amazing profile you got there. I can see now that you have a bright future here in steemit.

You are somebody my friend.

Thanks! I've been peripherally aware of steemit for quite a while now, but hadn't ever had anyone who used it heavily point me to how they used it until very recently, which is why I'm now posting here!

Good decision. Looking forward for your future posts. By the way, what is HUSH all about? Following you.

It is another fork of Zcash that does not have the Founder's Reward taken out of the block reward for miners. The first of these was Zclassic, followed about a month later by zdash, which had a smallish (less than 10%, closer to 5%) percent pre-mine. It is in the midst of being rebranded to HUSH. As it is one of the less expensive forks of Zcash (and there are others out there, too), that makes using it for the secure messaging features built into the zcash protocol less expensive to use. It still has quite a bit of headroom to go up in value while still remaining cheaper to use for messaging, and we are going to be developing a messaging focused wallet client for it.

I appreciate your reply but my limited experience and ideas about these things made me not understand. :)

Welcome to Steemit David. Hope you'll enjoy it here!

Yes this is my first day...
Trying to learn everything, wish I had a step by step video though the back office

I do have a comprehensive video for you: http://morelibertynow.com/steem/
Don't forget to thank @georgedonnelly
Cheers.

Congratulations @radix42! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

resteem and upvote for you....

welcome!! You are way more advanced than I will ever be, I look forward to learning a little from you.

Congratulations @radix42! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Hi Dave!
I saw a Komodo once, gnarly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30