Evacuating Atlanta

in #hurricaneirma7 years ago

The one day I had to sleep in I was awoken at 6:30 AM by my mother calling me to demand that I evacuate Atlanta. Hurricane Irma was on the way and she refused to allow me to ride out the storm. I was exhausted and annoyed because I was missing precious sleep. I packed my valuables in my fathers car. Forced my brother to do the same and we were off . My brother who was recently diagnosed with schizophrenia was not pleased about leaving. He snarled and complained. I attempted to remain peaceful although I only had $25, and we needed to get 5 hours away ![IMG_1700.JPG]. (https://steemitimages.com/DQmXmmLbYTkyQKFyFif1 m9DK3zyqahiqw1jAFRiMdyHYUTw/IMG_1700.JPG) He accused me of bringing him along because he had money. I love him and wanted him to be safe so I stayed silent. We arrived in Laurel, Mississippi Sunday around 2 AM. My brother was manic and wanted to go out to party. We went to a friends house where my sister and nephew who had previously evacuated waited on us. Her home was not clean and she only had one small couch for us to sleep on. I had a blanket so I slept on the floor. I was worried that if my brother couldn't sleep he'd have a mental break. He complained about how stupid I was and I prayed to myself on the dirty wood floor. The next morning I woke up at 6:30 AM sore and thankful. My brother said he was hungry and pissed about leaving Atlanta. I warmed up some day old soup and enjoyed it as we showered and packed our bags. When I was 19 years old I lost a child after her lungs collapsed in the first ten minutes of her life. She was buried there in Laurel, Mississippi. For the first time I wanted to visit her gravesite. We left the friends house and proceeded on our journey. We stopped at an old friends house and I prayed thankful prayers silently when she offered us food. I have my brother half. He snarled and told me he hated eating meat . We went to the grave and couldn't find it because I never had the ability to buy a marker. A cool breeze blowed over the sleepy graves and I prayed for my daughter in silence. IMG_1650.PNG After I was satisfied with my visit I got word that all of the power was off in Atlanta. My brother didn't bother to apologize for being mean. He didn't admit he was happy we avoided being in the dark. He just snarled and listened to music on his cell phone. My middle sister sent us money to come to her home in Humble Texas . We decided to stop in New Orleans on the way. I was having a lovely time in spite of the circumstances. I arrived in New Orleans with open eyes, and a full heart of love. We enjoyed the sites on Bourbon and I over drafted my account to buy two adorable "voodoo dolls" . My brother ran off and purchased pizza for himself . He didn't bother to offer us any. He complained about not having fun while me my sister and nephew enjoyed street performers. IMG_1660.JPG My sister bought a hand grenade and we all shared the sweet treat. I was in heaven. How lucky was I who had only a few dollars to my name enjoying a vacation on infamous Bourbon Street. I am lucky and blessed. IMG_1667.JPG We left Bourbon after a few hours. My sister and I drove through the night on the trip to Humble, Texas. My brother had somehow lost his license. We played music and laughed. At 3:45 AM we arrived in Humble Texas. We were tired, and smelly. My middle sister had just closed on a new house and the energy in the house let me know I was home. This time I wouldn't sleep on the floor. My sister poured me a shot of tequila and I drifted off to sleep blissfully. The next day I awoke at 9:45 the sun was bright and I was in a mood to cook. I conversed my brother into buying groceries with his food stamps. He complained but complied with my request. I bought kale, salmon, blueberries, mango, lamb chops and fresh peppers. I proceeded to get down in the kitchen excited about the impromptu family gathering. The meal IMG_1701.JPGwas lovely. My brother accused me of using him and although he ate all of the food told us how he hated meat. After the meal it was time to head back to Atlanta. Things got out of hand as my brother had a manic episode on the drive home. Overall I enjoyed my trip. I'm scared of and scared for my brother. His bleak view of life was a shadow over the many blessings I felt on the road trip.

Sort:  

Congratulations @missmosi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71