It's Going To Be A Foot Race, Does Hurricane Maria Make It To The Northeast Ahead Of Cold Front?

in #hurricane7 years ago


After decimating Dominica and striking St. Croix, Vieques, Culebra, Hurricane Maria bisected Puerto Rico before heading to the Dominican Republic and Turks & Caicos. Now she's making her move up the East coast of the US.

Maria's forecast to head out into the Atlantic at some point, making a hard right hand turn, the question is when.

Her current track has her impacting the Outer Banks of North Carolina and then leaving the US coastal waters.

She will eventually collide with a cold front, that is moving West to East across the US mainland, which will change her course from due North to East North East. If she were to pick up speed on her move up the coast, there is an outside chance that she threatens the greater New York metro area.



Maria is currently moving at 9 mph. If her pace were to double, Tuesday into Wednesday could see tropical storm force winds overspreading NY, NJ and New England. It's a foot race to the point of intersection.

I am happy to see her make the hard right and leave NJ with just rough seas and rip currents, but my Wife, the wannabe Storm Chaser is rooting for the storm to come right to our doorstep. smh. We will see in just a few days.


Bonnie's 35th Birthday (1).png


Image sources: 1, 2

Sort:  

WOW! Can you imagine what a hurricane with snow too would be like???

We see those now and again when we get a particularly strong Nor'easter.

How well I remember! We had one in early 78 I think it was. Entire cars covered! I had a basement apt and I kept waking up and it was still dark- so I went back to sleep. After 4-5 times I finally got up and it was 11 AM

Living on the NJ coast brings with it potential for big weather and big busts in the forecast. A lot of near misses and the occasional bulls-eye.

Boston too!

I forgot you were in Boston...couldn't understand the Middle West Nor'easter. Haha.

I moved away in Sept 78... Headed south to become a redneck. I'll tell ya though, the worst weather I ever saw was Wisc. It was -40 every day and snowed for a month at a time!

I'm not down with that at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95