Hunitngdon, England

in #huntingdon6 years ago

I created this page as a parent to events and places I visited or stayed in while I lived in Huntingdon England. Huntingdon is a nice little town with quick highway access and everything you need like shopping, pubs, a pedestrian zone and the city is quite well organized.

I visited a couple of festivals, visited with the locals, sampled the food and purchased souvenirs as any good tourist would do. I also stayed in an upscale hotel in Hitchingbrook once and had a nice time. I will cover these events in more detail on the subordinate pages.

huntingdon festival  6-26-2010 12-57-030.jpg

The Manor & Hotel Alconbury – I’ve been there a couple times and enjoyed it every time, great food, pleasant staff and a nice English atmosphere to have a meal or drink.

20160715_174323.jpg

RIverfest – this was a great time history, food, culture, I spent the entire day there.

huntingdon festival  6-26-2010 12-57-035.jpg

Mariott Hitchingbrooke – On one of my visits I ended up at an upscale hotel, very nice. If you want to live like royalty while traveling in the Huntingdon area, this is the place.

mariott hitchingbrooke  10-8-2012 1-05-37 PM.39 10-8-2012 1-53-42 PM.44.jpg

Just like everywhere I’ve traveled the Brits like festivals and they either make up a reason or reach back in history. While I was in Huntingdon they hosted a couple of festivals, one in particular which touched on earlier has a historical feel to it with the people all dressed up in some type of period costume from the past. Here you can see people gathered around to watch I believe a joust and some period actors recreating activities from their past. They also had some vendors dressed in period clothing making food from their past and selling it. Of course I tried some of it and believe they did a tremendous job. The spices weren’t as prevalent as we have today or at least in the states but nevertheless, it was good.

huntingdon festival  6-26-2010 12-57-033.jpg
As I walked the grounds of the Riverfest there were people set up demonstrating activities like cooking, tool making, food preservation, weaponry and I think there was even a bit of falconry. Here you can see areas of the ground with the tents and activities underway. There were some people that even made a week of it and stayed on the grounds in their own tents and really got in to the celebratory mood.

The festival was located adjacent to the river, the day was sunny and there were plenty of activities for all ages. I saw a few performers acting out scenes from the past like a trial, dancing, jousting , and weapons demonstrations. Some of these pictures give you a feel for the area the festival covered. It was a park or parade ground that ran along the eastern part of the city.

Good times.

More later

WIzard of Where

I quite enjoyed myself, talking to the exhibitors, sampling the food and watching the locals provide some very entertaining activities designed to recreate the past.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98