3 Thing I Learned About Western Hunting

in #hunting6 years ago

IMG_8040.JPG

In July 2016, I was bitten by the Western Hunting bug. I went all in and bought a left over deer tag. I started watching YouTube videos, reading blogs and forums, and gathering my gear. In 2017, I drew a cow elk tag and started the process all over. Although I bagged a nice buck on the deer hunt, the elk hunt didn't end with the meat in the cooler. However, these two trips have taught me more than years of videos or articles could ever have. Here are three things I learned on these trips.

Remember....It's Supposed to be Fun

I have a bad habit of turning hobbies into work. When I start a new endeavor, I go all in. Every waking minute is spent preparing for, thinking about, or doing whatever it is I am in to. These hunting trips were no different. I ate, drank, and slept hunting. I shot my rifle, worked out, poured over maps, packed and repacked my back pack, and talked everyone's ear off about my plans. I turned it into a part time job. My wife could tell I was getting burnt out so she sat me down and had a talk with me. She reminded me that this was supposed to be fun and that I was so serious about it that I was taking the fun out of the process. She was right. I took a step back and took it down a few notches. Even now, I have to remind myself that hunting trips are supposed to be fun, not a second job.

Ask for Help

As hunters, we can sometimes be a secretive bunch. We guard our hunting spots and methods with our lives. And, because we are secretive, we assume all other hunters are as well. Well, I found this is not so much the case for Western Hunting. Now, no one is likely to give you exact GPS numbers to their favorite spot. But, there is a wealth of knowledge out there on various forums. Most hunters are glad to share general knowledge of an area and techniques to get you headed in the right direction. Also, state Game and Fish biologists are an excellent source of information. They know the game and terrain of their given area and are more than happy to impart some of their knowledge on you.

Success Isn't About Taking an Animal

In 2016, I took my mule deer on the fourth day of the hunt. That morning as I was hiking to my spot, I stopped for a moment and looked at the stars in the Western sky. It struck me then and there that even if I didn't harvest an animal, the trip was a success. I had gone further than I had ever been, seen things I had never seen, and enjoyed my time exploring a new piece of country. Like so many things in life, you get out of hunting what you put into it. Hard work and gratitude are often rewarded with meat in the cooler.

Sort:  

Awesome hunting post! I love it! Great tips and that moment during your hike looking at the stars - priceless! Thank you so much for joining our #myhuntingfishing community! Looking forward to more of your content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41