Armslist Find - Marlin 336W 30-30 Lever Action RiflesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hunting7 years ago

_DSC0253.JPG

I've been eyeing the 30-30 for quite some time now. Something about the look and feel of this rifle just brings a smile to my face. The lever action rifle is quite iconic after being featured in many western classics. There are many different makes and models to choose from, but I found a good deal on this Marlin 336W.

This is actually the first rifle I have bought. I inherited a few other rifles ranging from .22 through 7.62 which are absolutely great in their own way. The .22 is for small game and pests here on the property. The 7.62 has a high powered scope for longer range encounters, but feels a bit overkill on our 2.5 acres. Deer will probably be the biggest game we encounter here.

These rifles are relatively inexpensive to obtain, and ammo isn't too costly either. The grain load is 150-170gr compared to a .223 load of <64 gr. It will have significantly more stopping power with over 2000 ft-lbs muzzle energy from some ammo. The .223 averages around 1200 ft-lbs. However, the 30-30 will have a shorter effective range than .223 rifles. An ideal shot for the 30-30 is within 100 yards, while an AR-15 can be fairly accurate out to 300+ yards.

This rifle came with a Simmons scope which I plan to remove. I really just need iron sights here around our property. I won't complain as this rifle was already at an amazing price. It has the JM stamped barrel and features the iconic gold trigger. If I decoded the serial number correctly it should date to 2001. I was hoping to find an older model, but they tend to be priced much higher. Remington took over production of Marlin rifles in 2009, and the quality is reported to have declined since.

This will be my grab and go rifle I can have accessible in the house. Everything else can stay locked up since I won't need to be choosing which caliber I need for every encounter. If something is attacking my chickens or messing around on my property, this will be a very loud wake up call for them. 6 in the tube and one in the chamber should get the message across.

Do you have a 30-30? What make and model did you choose? I'm curious to hear what your grab and go is for game and predators around your property.

Rakkasan.jpg

Sort:  

Nice brother, I like some of the older feel weapons as well. Have an old Winchester 94 30/30 lever myself. Not real old, although that would be cool, just maybe 1950's. Never checked the numbers.

Got two grab and go for the property.....a Mossberg .22LR lever, and a double barrel .410. Don't have anything too big here so I don't need much. Just coyotes and an occasional mountain lion....and plenty of rattlesnakes, hence the scatter gun when needed.

Hey @rakkasan84 ,

When I was a kid, the first rifle I was allowed to use for deer hunting was an old 30-30, in Winchester's Model 94.

When I was in the Army, I decided to buy a 30-30, and decided I wanted a used Win '94. The problem I had was getting the pawn shop in Clarksville to sell one to me. They claimed that because my ID said Ft. Campbell KY, they couldn't (read in "wouldn't") sell me a gun... in Tennessee. I went right up the road, to Walmart, and bought a brand new one. Too bad, because I really think Winchester messed them up when they put additional safety devices on them. They were plenty safe with the original "half-cock" design. Anyway, long answer for a short question. I like the Winchester.

Congratulations on your new rifle though. I do think the Marlins look really nice.

Now to answer the second part of your question. I have several go-to guns. For the most part, I grab my Ruger Mk-IV .22lr pistol. It's stupid accurate. My wife has killed gophers at 10 yards, when they poke their heads out of the hole; and I have killed coyotes at 50 yards, while they ran away from the chicken coop.
For snakes, I like to grab the Taurus Judge, loaded with 410 #6 shot. It's a great piece of mind to carry something like the judge into the coop(or anything else that shoots shotshells), when you suspect snakes.

I looked at the Winchesters too but they were way over priced. This Marlin has a really smooth action and a nice slim profile with the iron sights (I have another post where I modded this rifle). I would have paid twice as much for the Winchesters. I have an AR also, but told my wife if somethings happens she can grab that and I'll take the 30-30 lol. If I had the money for an older Winchester, I would probably get an AK-47.

I have a lever action .38 special/.357 marlin and I love it. It too only has iron sights and I use it every year to take my limit of deer. 30-30 is a mighty round and I just don't like the kick it gives. I've never lost a deer with a .38 special +P round to the neck. Instant drop.

Either way, you got a nice find. Congrats! Great post!

Thanks for stopping by @mericanhomestead ! I've seen a few of your videos on YouTube. What part of the Ozarks are you from? I was stationed at Ft. Leonard Wood for a few years and still go camping in the Mark Twain National Forest. It is beautiful country up there!

Looks like you picked a nice homestead rifle. Great find! Keep the scope. Never know when you might want to use that for something!

Indeed, I'm not sure what I'll put it on but it's definitely worth keeping. It's a 3-9x50. The scope was a bit large for this rifle and nearly rests on the barrel with the current ramp installed to it. They had to remove the iron sights when they did this so I'm keeping an eye out for a good set.

My girlfriend grew up in Montana and always talks about 30-30. I've always considered getting one but never thought about a lever action. I certainly like the looks and idea of this one.

Beautiful rifle there, Lever has long been my favorite action. Have a Savage 99 in .243 and a henry golden .22. Marlin makes a fine rifle for sure.

Nice rifle, I have seen them in movies. Years ago I had a opportunity to shoot from full automatic machine gun called MG 3. It's a good feeling to shoot in the range.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80