Huntingparty - Story and Painting of a Falconer

in #hunting7 years ago (edited)

Previous year, my father took me to a falconer. We both love birds, so this was a real treat. I always take my drawing gear with me, when I go to places where I might see interesting stuff. I was not disappointed, he had snow owls, Lapland owls, hawks, vultures, and many more species. We made a walk through the forest with a bird (I carried a barnowl), and he flew with them.
The falconer saw me drawing, and when everybody was gone, and my father and me were left, he asked me to show my drawings. I have this disorder in which I cannot accept compliments in a normal way, so showing my drawings (in real life) is always a huge step for me. The man asked me if we'd like to come over again, and join him hunting with a hawk, where I could draw and make reference pictures. So he'd receive a drawing or painting, and I have a unique day, filled with birds and nature, oh, how exited I was! (I said yes!)

Drawings at the day with the falconer:

valkenierworkshop.jpg

valkenierworkshop2.jpg

So, half a year later, when it was hunting season in the Netherlands, I called him to ask if the deal was still on. And it was. Together with my father, the falconer, his dog - a German Wirehaired Pointer - and a 'ferretter' (a man who carries a ferret who is put in a rabbithole, and gets out in the other end of the 'pipe', with or without a rabbit) I walked along. I drew and shot pictures, but all the action is too fast for my pens and pencils, unfortunately. After some hours the hawk of the falconer catched a rabbit, and we set it loose, because there was momentarily a low rabbitcount in this area.

In the end it took me a few months to produce the 60x70cm acrylics painting of the falconer with his hawk and his German Wirehaired Pointer.

I started with a red background, which I learned from a local plein-air painter in regio Arnhem (mid/East part of the Netherlands). It makes your canvas covered, so no white specks, and it gives your work a warm glow, even though you're going to paint parts blue.

After building the painting I had to make the strawy, thick, long grass. I have to admit, it wasn't my hobby. Nature comes with trees and all, and I always hope I can stick to the portraits with a woolly background. Unfortunately. But to be honest, for someone who rarely paints plants and trees, I didn't completely messed it up.

In the end, the falconer and his wife loved the painting. I didn't varnish it, because the painting was hanged in a quite dark room, so the blackness of the colours look completely black, and don't need an intensifier (that's the main reason I do varnish paintings usually).

So, what do you think? Please, if you have questions, ask them! If something is unclear I love to reply.

Thanks for reading! Or in Dutch: Dankjewel voor je bezoekje :)

Feel free to check my Social Media accounts:
Etsy-shop: https://www.etsy.com/nl/shop/MariekedeStip
Facebookpage: https://www.facebook.com/MariekedeStip/
Website: http://MariekedeStip.nl/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/MariekedeStip.nl/

Sort:  

Congratulations @mariekedestip! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52