My new Pride and joy (Part1)

in #hunting7 years ago

Hi there again

I thought I would start with 1 of my newest interests, Hunting.

Hunting is 1 of the healthiest activities that I (sort of) recently discovered.
For 1 you get lots of fresh air in the bush as you stalk your prey.
You get a fair amount of slow paced cardio in, I walked about 9km on the first morning of my latest hunting trip.
And then of course the meat is a lot healthier because the animals are not injected with any hormones or antibiotics
I hunted a few times before this year but never with a rifle I owned, so last year I decided to get myself a boomstick of my own and after all the licensing processes and lots of window shopping I got it.Browning X-Bolt Composite Stalker - 035201211.jpg

My new pride and joy the Browning x-bolt stalker
I decided on the browning x-bolt stalker in .308, and after owning it for about 6 months it very well may be the best decision I made to date. I chose the .308 calibre because I enjoyed hunting in the bush the most and with that calibre there is nothing I can’t hunt, form Impala right up to Eland
My first hunt was on open plains, on the border of Namibia. And for me that wasn’t really hunting as the animals didn’t have a chance at those distances (I hunted in the 200m to 400m region) and it’s more like shopping combined with target practise. My next hunt was in the bushveld and I immediately fell in love with it. From the stalking to finally taking aim without a dead rest and then tracking the animal to where it lay (luckily it hasn’t been very far for me yet) felt like I earned the meat I was to enjoy from the animals I hunted. Since then all my hunts were in the bushveld.
The X-bolt is a very nice little rifle that weights only 2.9kg and has a 22” barrel, which is perfect for the bush as it is easy move around with. It has a synthetic stock, which means you don’t have to worry about it being scratched as much as you would with a wooden stock.

I started hunting mainly because it is a lot cheaper to hunt for meat than what meat costs in a butchery. Here is SA beef normally goes for an average of about R100/kg which is getting quite expensive. On the few hunts I have been my game meat works out to an average of R60/kg and that is after all the costs even for the butcher processing the game into steaks and wors etc. That to me is a very good deal, and considering that game is a lot healthier as the wild animals are freerange and organic, it makes it an even better deal.
78210968fbc25d9b62793eb616b47eb8.jpg
Up next I will go a bit more in depth about my rifle and my hunting experiences so far so stay tuned if this interested you.

Cheers until next time
@joupa

Sort:  

The browning xbolt is without a doubt going to be my next deer rifle, hopefully in the western hunter edition if I can afford it. Its cool to see what hunting is like for others around the world, well done.

You cant go wrong with the xbolt, it shoots very accurate out of the box and has a very smooth trigger with no creep( at least i didn't feel any)

this one is my favourite for hunting

That does look awesome

Caliber 7.62
Military sniper riffle but the barrel is a bit shorter. Some kind of demilitarised =)
but still awesome
shooting up to 1,5 km (tested by me)
I guess, I was just lucky to shoot deer at this distance

Congratulations @joupa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45