Buck Fever In The Modern Age of Deer Hunting

in #hunting7 years ago (edited)

fever1.jpg
To Text, Or Not to Text? That is the Question...

Apparently, the proper thing to do these days when you miss a deer is to quickly cover your head with your hunting hat and reach for your nearby smartphone. Or at least this young Wisconsin hunter thought so.

Can you say buck fever?

buck fe·ver

noun

NORTH AMERICANinformal

nervousness felt by novice hunters when they first sight game.

Not to fret, young deer huntress (yes, this is a young lady here). We've all been there, some more than once, whether we will admit it or not.

And to think, in my day you simply froze in full blown, unmitigated, catatonic panic until the animal walked off, and then hung on to the nearest limb with all of your arms and legs and with everything you had for an hour or more.

So that you did not fall out of your treestand... As if your life depended on it...Because if you were high enough in the tree, it probably did.

At least that's what I've heard...

You?

“He grouped his last five shots right in the center of the bull’s-eye. Then I showed him my technique of scattering shots randomly around the target because, as I explained, you never know which way the deer might jump just as you pull the trigger.” — Patrick McManus, The Hunting Lesson, February 1983

One That Did Not Get Away

bigwhitetailfinal.jpg
Now That's a Whitetail!

Mark Miller from Mauston, Wisconsin and a deer of a lifetime, taken in the Fall of 2017. I don't know if he had any buck fever, but I know that I would have. There is certainly no ground shrinkage here!

*We love outdoor photos at Through a Hunters Eyes. Care to share?

And if you have a buck fever story, we'd love to hear from you too. We promise not to make fun, at least not too much...

I, Michael Patrick McCarty, am the original author of this content.

First published on our website at http://throughahunterseyes.com/buck-fever-in-the-modern-age/

Please follow us at http://throughahunterseyes.com/ and https://steemit.com/@huntbook

Resteems Are Always Appreciated.

Active Member Outdoor Writers Association of America

**Trophy white-tailed deer photograph provided by Mark Miller. Buck Fever Photograph by Kevin McBride.

Sort:  

Love your content, keep up the good work my friend.

Thanks so much. I shall continue to endeavor to persevere...(From the movie The Outlaw Josey Wales with Clint Eastwood, one of my all time favorite films).

Really enjoying all the outdoor content thank you!

I am always happy to talk about the outdoors. Just wish I could get out there even more. Thanks for the encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30