My New Favorite Rifle and My View Last Saturday

in #hunting7 years ago

1014171034_HDR.jpg

Hunting is a family tradition that I am grateful to be able to carry on.

This is my new favorite hunting rifle - a Ruger M77 Hawkeye in 7mm-08 caliber, topped with a Nikon Prostaff 3-9x40 scope with Bullet Drop Compensator reticle.

I hiked a mile or so up the mountain to get to this vantage point.

In all I saw 7 deer and 8 or 9 elk but no shooters. It was an enjoyable day.

Sort:  

1524757967369.jpg

c'est vous été parme les meilleur chasseur au monde soyer la bien venu chez nous au Maroc Il y a beaucoup de monstres ici pour chasser
7038213-10769734.jpg

wow ! awesome rifle and its color is very nice . I like its.thanks for sharing. ...upvoted

Thanks! The wood is just beautiful on it.

yes, really it's wonderfull .. thanks

Beautiful rifle and that view is amazing!
What kind of range do you get out of that 7mm?

Thank you! Ballistically it is capable of cleanly taking deer out to 500 yards or more with around 1,000 Foot Pounds of Energy at that range. I would endeavor to keep my shots within 300 yards though. The longest shot I have ever taken on a deer is 200 yards or a little less.

Very cool. I'm sure that's definitely adequate to take out just about any deer and hopefully not have it run too far after the shot.

Yes, and all in a lighter short action and minimal recoil. :) Thanks for stopping by and making meaningful comments!

Nice gun! I'm not familiar with this caliber... What is the maximum yards on deers with the 7mm08?

Thanks! Max range is about 500 - 600 yards for deer with this caliber. Some say with stout 150 grain handloads they can reach out to 900 yards with 1,000 FPE remaining, which is said to be the minimum for a quick clean kill.

Thank you for your answer! I didn't know that this tiny bullet could kill that far! Makes me think about the 6.5 X 55. Small bullet but excellent sectional density. I'll take a quick look on youtube about your caliber!

Wow beautiful

looks so cool....Everyone should like this...

Wow photography

Nice post like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76