100 Day Challenge - Learning a new rudiment

100day.jpg

I've decided to practice something for 100 days, half an hour each day. Since I'm a drummer, I decided to learn a rudiment I don't know yet. For the first challenge, I took six-stroke roll, a basic rudiment that I wanted to learn a while ago but just couldn't find the time to do it.

the-six-stroke-roll-illustration.jpg

Basically, a rudiment is a sticking pattern that you apply on a drum kit. If you want to know more about rudiments, check this link: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drum_rudiment

Six stroke roll is a drum rudiment consisting of 6 strokes. First one is played with right hand and is played loud (accented), then you play 2 quiet notes with your left hand (non accented) followed by a 2 non accented notes, but this time played with right hand. 6th note is played with the left hand and is accented. So, a whole rudiment is R l l r r L, and in repeat. Uppercase letters present accented notes, lowercase letters present non accented notes.

I started practicing this rudiment at 70 bpm (beats per minute) and after about 15 minutes, I increased the speed to 75 bpm and went for 15 more minutes on that speed. My goal is to hit at least 200bpm at the end of this challenge. I've set my metronome to triplets because I find it the easiest to play 6-stroke roll in triplets. Also, I played this on Evans RealFeel Pad with VicFirth 7A Hickory sticks.

One more thing: I apologise for the bad quality of the video, but my camera is unfortunately unavailable so I had to use my smartphone for this.

Thanks for watching and stay tuned for day 2!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37