I lost my heart to a handsome stranger..........in Africa

in #humour5 years ago

Image Source

After an exciting morning's game viewing in the Kalagadi in Namibia, our group collapsed on our camp beds to read and nap. I woke and finding the camp 'dead to the world' I decided to walk down to the hide that looked over the waterhole.

The air creaked with heat.

At the door to the hide from which one could observe animals and birds in peace, I met a blonde woman exiting. She gave me a broad smile and I could almost swear she gave a little wink! Bemused I went into the coolth of the thatched room.

I was met by a charming young man and within seconds I understood completely the blonde's surreptitious wink!

He was like a trapdoor spider and he pounced as the screen door slammed behind me.

His gap toothed smile was ear to ear broad and I was blown away by the sweet sincerity of it as he greeted me. His long lost friend had arrived at last! Me!

We compared notes briefly and I learned that he had seen his third Leopard since arriving in the Kalagadi. (I believed him utterly such was his winsome way and I could have died from jealousy.)

He had all the patter of good conversation at his beck and call. He hoped I was well and that I had spotted several of the animals not quite so common in the park. Once he was sure that he had my attention he told me that he was, and he held up a starfish of a hand plus a thumb of his other hand and announced, " I am 6," with the importance of the president addressing the nation.

Drawing himself up to his full height to lend weight to his announcement, he added, " and my name is.... Ethan."

He wasn't surprised that I was verbally very impressed. He tossed in the extra information that he would be going to 'BIG school" the following year. (His future, in my opinion,as a CEO of a big company was assured.)

When I could get a word in he answered all my tentative questions. "Oh, I'm with my dad, but he was tired out by the leopard so he is sleeping.....over there" and gesticulated vaguely where a lot of rooftop tents were parked. "My mom couldn't come camping, she absolutely HAD TO stay at home to look after my dog Waggles." He looked a little disappointed when he mentioned his mother but his eyes moistened when he mentioned Waggles. I knew for sure where his love and loyalty lay.

I got a full description of "my black and white furry Kelpie dog" with lots of energetic play acting.  Firstly THE dog as he bounced on all fours and then himself as he play acted throwing a ball.

I was enchanted. 

I too had in my heart of hearts been a little bored and had found more than I had bargained for in my brand new best friend. But we adults have a short attention span and just as I was getting just a trifle glassy eyed he made my holiday complete by announcing, "my dog Waggles eats so much food..........he has a HUGE APPLETITE."

With carefully concealed amusement and light of heart, I eventually escaped from his clutches and returned to my camp where I could tell my tale round the evening campfire and enjoy a hearty laugh, not at his expense but in absolute appreciation of a new friend who I will remember with affection, forever.

We raised our bottles of beer and I proposed a toast, "to Ethan," ,,,,,,,,,,,,,"and his hungry hound," quipped Ray.

Image Source

Image Source



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99