MOON MADNESS

in #humor6 years ago

Screenshot_20180715-202345~2.png

I was noticing this week that people seemed to be a little excitable and emotions were running high and I realized a Super New Moon was upon us. If you follow me on Steemit, you'll remember my post about the full moon and the madness it causes. Someone reminded me in the comments that the new moon has similar effects. If you would like to read that post you can follow this link:
https://steemit.com/nature/@the-witty-waiter/the-maddening-effects-of-the-full-moon

         ✶⊶⊷⊶⊷❍⊶⊷⊶⊷✶

The new moon also has similar maddening effects on us as well.

My week of work had me at my wit's end with drama, some good and some had me considering running off and leaving no forwarding address.

       ✶⊶⊷⊶⊷❍⊶⊷⊶⊷✶

The first experience was with a yearly regular customer of mine that was visiting with her husband and entire family. It's been a rough year for them because her husband had cancer and he had just finished with his treatments and received a clean bill of health. You could sense the relief and everyone was in great spirits while the wine and great food flowed forth. We joked around and shared a toast and took some photos of the whole group. At the end of the meal, my customer was hugging me and thanking me for the great time and service. She was so happy that she was in tears. Needless to say, my heart was warmed and I got a little teary eyed myself.

      ✶⊶⊷⊶⊷❍⊶⊷⊶⊷✶

The second experience happened while I was working with my party mentioned above. Another yearly regular comes in and is insisting that I serve them. I had talked to him the day before and he had mentioned that he was coming in but his last visit was less than satisfactory because of the server he had the previous year. I told him in our conversation that I had a large group already but I would see what I could do. Trying not to hog the good tables, I personally chose the server that would be taking care of his table since it was his anniversary. Nope, he was not having anyone but me, so I set about seeing to his party. Luckily, my other group was towards the end of their meal and I had the time to start this table before my next large group comes in. Unlucky for me, the server I picked to see about him starts having a fit because the table only wants me. In between me seeing about both groups, I now have to console a person on the verge of a tantrum by explaining that the man's determination has nothing to do with her. This is the point where I'm thinking of sneaking out the back door and never coming back.

        ✶⊶⊷⊶⊷❍⊶⊷⊶⊷✶

The third act to this saga continues with the other two servers I'm working with are playing around like they have no cares in the world. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy work when things are running smoothly and everyone's spirits are up but Dumb and Dumber are literally standing in the middle of a heavy traffic area of the restaurant just gossiping and laughing. One is throwing ice at co-workers and the other is fluctuating between acting like she's at a slumber party and prank calling the neighbors to acting like a total lunatic and berating anyone that isn't up to her standards. Incidentally, this server is also the slowest and laziest person on staff and the only reason she still has the job is because her cat died the week she was supposed to be let go. Drama is her middle name.

        ✶⊶⊷⊶⊷❍⊶⊷⊶⊷✶

By this point, the night is about half over and I feel like I'm on an episode of Candid Camera or I'm being punked by Karma. Something has to be in the air and sure enough, after a quick Google search, and downing a quick glass of wine and sneaking out for a smoke in between dinner courses, I realize it's not only a new moon but a Super New Moon. It's also Friday the 13th and I'm starring in my own personal horror movie. What unholy hell is this ?!!!

         ✶⊶⊷⊶⊷❍⊶⊷⊶⊷✶

At this point I hide in a corner for a few minutes and put up the barrier to beat away all the bad vibes. I take the first server aside and tell her she will be helping me out with the next large party for a split of the tip. I pulled the ice throwing server aside and let him know that if he doesn't get his ass in line that he will be going home immediately and won't be coming back. I then go to my co-manager and address the issue of the lunatic who is about to start a war with our kitchen staff in between braiding the ice throwing server's hair, figuratively speaking of course.

       ✶⊶⊷⊶⊷❍⊶⊷⊶⊷✶

This should give you some idea of what happens behind the scenes of your favorite eatery and the life of a full time server and begrudgingly part time manager. If you get great service, TIP WELL! If you don't, ask to speak to me and I will let them know why they got a crappy tip. Be aware of the Moon phases! It may keep you out of jail! Hopefully next week takes it easy on me. My birthday is coming up and it would be great if everyone could just play it cool. Peace!

Sort:  

Congratulations! You were featured by @headchange in the #payitforward contest. That is how I found you. All the best.

Funny you should mention it. I felt a shift in the atmosphere around 8 tonight. A feeling something bad is about to happen.

Hopefully it's just indigestion. Take care of yourself

Upvote,
Es natural Sentir los efectos de algunos astros cercanos como la luna, la tierra misma es afectada por esta, nosotros por que no?, los astros están conviviendo con nosotros en el universo.

Good News: Superior Coin is now preparing for a Significant growth , @kryptonia is his faithful friend to make the ecosystem that will make @superiorcoin rise to the moon. Continue promoting your's post in @steemit from kryptonia.io if you need more coins you can Miner or simply
Buy Superior Coin

Always leave a tip and don't mess with people that cook your food is a golden rule I live by.

You have been upvoted by @rentmoney thanks for participating
in our Followers Appreciation Promotion.

Thank you. I often tell my customers that they shouldn't give me a hard time since I'm bringing them food that may or may not have fallen on the floor, in jest of course. 🤫

I would do the same ... Don't mess with the guy that messes with your food would be my go to line .. :)

Congratulations @the-witty-waiter ! You received a 30% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1000 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

I think it's something interesting to study, here where I live there are many beliefs of peoples, that the moon influences animal behavior. I do not know what kind of waves this natural satellite transmits, but I do know that it influences the external world (cycles of nature) and the inner world.

It's a logical step that the moon influences humans as well. The moon controls the ocean tides. Why not the water in our bodies?

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 20.77%. Estimated dollar amount of $0.68

You got a 100.00% upvote from @automation courtesy of @the-witty-waiter! This is a service sponsored by @yehey. Please consider voting @yehey for Witnes. Use this short URL link https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote, this will redirect to Steem Connect for secure connection.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 90% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/automation to delegate SP to @Automation.
If you need an extra upvote, join us at https://SteemChat.com discord server.

Have a lovely day.
@Automation - Keep Steeming for a better future.

Interesting post. Something I can relate to because I was in F&B too. Oh well, you survived the night.

Just keep smiling and laughing. It helps ward off the bad vibes

Don't know how you keep well grounded with all the madness going on around you @the-witty-waiter you really must love interacting with people.

Now to serve the next round on full moon, please just don't spit on the food... Keep smiling and serving!

I would never admit to doing something like that. It's a fun job most of the time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71