Jimmy Fallon skit leads to hilarious Yelp reviews for a business in Sacramento

in #humor16 days ago

Well they are hilarious if you have a silly sense of humor like I do.

Someone forwarded me a clip that I probably wouldn't have seen otherwise where Will Ferrell is on the Jimmy Fallon show doing a really silly skit where someone in the audience heckles a singer with constant questions while he is performing.

I enjoyed it and never would have seen it if it hadn't been pointed out to me because like most people these days, I do not watch much TV and never watch network TV.

Here's the clip, let's see if you think it is funny at all.

I think you need to appreciate Ferrell's silly style of humor to find that amusing but I enjoyed it.

At the very end of the video - if you didn't make it that far - some stuff pops up on the screen detailing that the seemingly fictional sports bar in Sacramento that Will references during the skit is actually real. I like many other people tried to seek it out to see if they were telling the truth and yes, it is an actual place.

I'm sure they saw a massive uptick in visitors after this video went viral with nearly 9 million views just on YouTube. I'm sure the owner is not complaining about that even though in the video they say the bar is "pretty bad."


image.png
src

The website no longer works and this is surprising to me. What a novel opportunity missed.

Something else pretty hilarious has happened in that the review sites for the bar such as Yelp and TripAdvisor have been inundated with clearly fake reviews that only reference things that took place in the video, not at the bar.


image.png

I don't think any of the Yelp reviews are legitimate and the owner of the bar doesn't really seem to care. It seems to me that this would be a wonderful opportunity for the owner(s) to take advantage of international exposure that they wouldn't be able to afford otherwise but I guess they don't really give a damn. I do love the people of the world will take the time to mostly pleasantly troll a business though, because I'm sure that Will and Jimmy meant no actual harm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61232.75
ETH 2977.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60