Peanut ButtersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #humor6 years ago

The room seemed dark, uninviting. Twelve figures sat around a table, each somehow shaded from the light, and each somehow more imposing than the last. The newest member spoke first.

"So. We're supposed to begin plotting now?"

"Shut up! Don't disturb the silence. It's customary to begin with a moment of silence at every meeting, for all those who came before. For all those who failed."

"Oh. Sor-"

"Shh!"

The newcomer shut up, clamping his lips shut as though his life depended on it. Considering his companions, it probably did. Finally, that long, long moment was over.

"Welcome to the council, Jeremy. Are you sure you don't want to change that? Jeremy doesn't sound very imposing."

"I'd rather my actions speak for me than my name."

"Very… aspiring of you. Almost like you're one of those hated enemies of ours. Almost like you're a plant"

An involuntary shiver went down his spine. He knew if he didn't give the proper response he wouldn't walk out of that room. Or more terrifyingly – he would, though probably not of his own volition.

"Oh no! I'd never dream of being a hero. Those presumptuous fools, always meddling, trying to push themselves to the spotlight. But we – we operate from the background. Besides, you didn't really think there was a chance I was one of them, did you? Had you thought there was even the slightest of chances of that, I would never have been invited here tonight. I'd probably have been knifed in the back – or worse – for having the audacity to contact you without clearing my past."

He sensed an air of… he would have said approval, had he thought it possible in this crowd. He relaxed the muscles he hadn't known he'd clenched.

"Very good. Very… astute. Welcome to the council of twelve, Jeremy. Welcome to the mightiest alliance ever to be formed."

pixabay

-hyperbole out

I started writing this a while ago, just looking through my old files and found it. Should I post a few more chapters?

Sort:  

Intriguing start, obviously more chapters :) How else can I judge without all the evidence?

Yes.. please more chapters!!! And please tag me when you post if you don't mind. Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63