What's on YOUR BBQ bro?

in #humor6 years ago

It's a well known fact Australian's love the outdoors. It's got a lot to do with the amazing weather we have here for a lot of the year; There's extremes of weather here of course, but generally Aussie's can get out and about for most of the year and on any given day you'll see us out enjoying the outdoors in public and in our backyards.

Typically our outdoor escapades are accompanied by a few items we feel are non-negotiable. Our BBQ grill, and the appropriate flesh to put on there, a cold-box (we call them Esky's) full of ice and drinks, some folding chairs, a football or cricket bat and ball and well...That's the essentials. Don't worry about the non-essential things like salad-greens, sun-block, paper plates, hamburger buns (right @mattclarke?)...Oh, one must have potato salad so insert that in the essentials list above. Ah, I almost forgot...A mandatory BBQ accoutrement is the novelty apron. No novelty apron, no BBQ. Hey, that's the rules man, don't blame me...

You know I'm only kidding right? We're Aussie's mate, we'd never get caught out at a BBQ without ALL the right gear and the awesome part is that no matter the situation we have a great time even if it's a simple sausage, bread and tomato sauce BBQ. We LOVE IT! BBQ's are our thing.

Oh, if you are one of those people (mainly American's) who think that, "throwing a shrimp on the barbie" is a thing let me dispel the myth. It ain't! Some asshole marketing company came up with that and got that idiot Paul Hogan (aka Crocodile Dundee) to blab on about it on tourism commercials on your TV 's. I'm 48 years old and have lived my entire life here and have never seen a shrimp on a barbie. We call them prawns not shrimp anyway and I reckon a bloke would get bashed to within an inch of his life by his mates if he threw a shrimp on the barbie. In my 48 years I've been to a lot of BBQ's...Lets call it five hundred and thirty seven million, gazillion, bazillion BBQ's and am yet to see a shrimp on a barbie. Ok, savvy? No FKN shrimps.

Every household in Australia has a BBQ of some sort. The Australian Taxation Office (ATO) actually tax non-BBQ-having households at a higher rate until they actually obtain a BBQ. Seriously, That's true. I'm not even joking.

So come Sunday afternoon at every household in Australia the BBQ gets fired up. Seriously, every household. We are all the same in that...All Aussies...What does differ however is what we put on the BBQ.

There's no rules of course, it's open-slather. Some put lamb on their BBQ and others beef, chicken or pork. Fish is becoming more popular and I have had some awesome Northern Territory Barramundi BBQ's in my time. Google it. I've seen vegetarian BBQ's also of course plus kangaroo, camel, buffalo, crocodile, goat and just about any edible item you could imagine put on a BBQ grill. OK, I'll concede that I have actually seen shrimp on a BBQ but that didn't end well for the guy that put it there. Firstly he called it shrimp and secondly he put it on the BBQ. The ambulance crew took him away after he "tripped" over and got bashed up but I don't think he ever made it to hospital once they found out what he did with that shrimp (prawn).

We're now in spring and heading into summer so we are well inside the prime BBQ season and every Australian household will be BBQ-ing. It's a very multicultural country these days and there's likely to be a BBQ of every nation on most streets in Australia, the resulting smells are enticing, exotic and as varied as the people that this vast country holds. We all BBQ in our own way...Even shrimp guy although he does it at his peril. What's great is that we come together around the BBQ; We're just a bunch of people standing around burning flesh and drinking beverages in a social ritual that has taken place since we first worked out that burned meat was better than raw thousands of years ago.

If you're not an Aussie but get a chance to be here someday you need to make sure you get yourself invited to an Aussie BBQ. There's many Steemit user's I'd be happy to have in my back yard. You know who you are. And who knows, maybe I'll let you have a go on the tongs...So, if you're on my BBQ list, and you know it, then invite yourself!

Sort:  

The ambulance crew took him away after he "tripped" over and got bashed up but I don't think he ever made it to hospital once they found out what he did with that shrimp (prawn).

Ha - that's hilarious! One of the funniest lines I've read in a long time!

My father-in-law is Greek - a chef. One of his specialties is the BBQ - he cooks a mean one. Covers all the meat in these spices that he blends himself and then just BBQ's them perfectly. The BBQ is often complimented by a whole lamb on a spit (which is a pretty freaken good compliment!!). One of the things he BBQ's is skewered prawns, so while I agree in theory, when I'm eating those bad boys, straight off the grill, in practice, I'm all for prawns on the BBQ - especially these!!

Great post - thoroughly enjoyed reading it!

One of the things he BBQ's is skewered prawns, so while I agree in theory, when I'm eating those bad boys, straight off the grill, in practice, I'm all for prawns on the BBQ - especially these!!

Shh, don't tell anyone...But BBQ'd prawns are FKN awesome...

Greek BBQ's are one of my favourite. I went to one where the lamb on the spit was stuffed with chickens...Cooked all day...DAMN those Greeks can cook. Lucky Australia has many of them, and I have a few as mates.

It was just a fun post inspired by the nicer weather and my sense of being a dickhead sometimes. I'm glad you liked it. :)

P.s. Tell no one about that shrimp/BBQ/ambulance guy...I don't want it coming back as a cold-case in 30 years time... :)

Yeah, great post. I was kind of disappointed at the end because I spent the entire time wondering when you were going to get to the lizard you found on your BBQ (stupid misleading image!!)!

I've heard of those lambs stuffed with chickens, but never had the pleasure. The Greeks do know how to cook. I haven't seen the octopus tentacles that Matt mentioned here for a while, but he often pulls out unique meats that he thought he'd give a try. Summer time he heads down to Henley jetty just about every night and comes back with the bag limit for crabs. He doesn't eat them, so hands them onto my wife and I. Damn shame that is!!

Haha, well, the image was supposed to indicate that we put lizard's on the BBQ to be honest...Without actually saying it. That particular lizard got away though...

Dude. His octopus tentacles are so good.
As thick as your wrist, smoky and tender.
I'm just going to come sleep on your doorstep until the next one.

I haven't seen them since the engagement party, but you're more than welcome on our doorstep anytime. You can even come in if you like.

BBQ season sounds so good! We're heading into fall and winter in the US of A, so there will be less grilling and more chilling. Do you guys tend to get snow down there?
Throw a steak or a burger on for me. Oh, and I do prefer my burgers with a bun. ;)

It snows in certain parts of Australia in winter, not a lot though. Victorian High Country, New South Wales, Tasmania. Not much though and nothing like you guys get.

We love our BBQ's down here man, but I have seen some crazy-ass grillin' from the States! A show called Grill Masters and others...So good! How good is seared flesh!

Throw a steak or a burger on for me. Oh, and I do prefer my burgers with a bun

This was a reference to when @mattclarke hosted the very first Adelaide Steemit meet-up. A BBQ in the park in January this year. He forgot the hamburger buns...We made do with some bread hastily obtained locally though. It all worked out for the best. That's part of being at an Aussie BBQ...We adapt and overcome... :)

Thanks for commenting. I'd like to host you for a BBQ some day...No shrimp involved...

I figured there had to be some parts of the country/continent that got snow. I mean, parts of Hawaii get snow!

I really do enjoy my BBQ'd beef. Could be burgers, steaks, or heck even a meatloaf. Although I've never tried the last one. I'll bet it's good though!

Yeah, mistakes happen. It's all good @mattclarke! I've made burgers at the house and realized I didn't have more buns in the freezer. I just used some bread as well. It's still good. The bun has a specific taste I enjoy, but the meat is what it's really about. I'll take a burger on bread over basically anything else. And that's any day of the week. Snowing or not.

I'm not a big shrimp guy, so I'm looking forward to this authentic Australian BBQ. :D

We had skewered, barbecued shrimp with garlic sauce at a wedding on Saturday.

Ok, now I just don't know who to believe. Is @galenkp telling the truth? Would a man really be "bashed to within an inch of his life by his mates if he threw a shrimp on the barbie"? Or is @mattclarke telling the truth that he had BBQ shrimp at a wedding?

~ OR ~

Did @mattclarke have BBQ shrimp at a wedding and @galenkp and the other guys beat the man who was BBQing the shrimp?

~ OR ~

image.png

The wedding was catered by a professional. It's not for amateurs like your regular barbie.
Most of our bbq's are just flat pieces of iron with a fire underneath.
Great for sausages and steaks, but not so much for prawns. Those suckers need a grill, and only the show ponies stretch to that kind of extravagance.

It's the weirdest thing, you keep mentioning stuff, and these images just pop up. I am definitely not using Paint to edit them together. :P

only the show ponies stretch

It's a "Show Pony Stretch on a Barbie."
image.png

Don't be silly honey. Give it six months and everyone will have forgotten about the hamburger buns.
Screenshot_20181008114623_Brave.jpg

Bwahaha...

Saludos @galenkp , una tradición muy buena, quisiera vivir haya, no sabía que el canguro se podía comer, voy a convencer a mis padres para hacer una BBQ con frecuencia y disfrutarlo como ustedes, feliz tarde…

I couldn't agree more. You're welcome... :)

Then my work here is done...I can return to my home planet... :)

Oh 😯 No! Don’t leave us yet!

Haha...I'll stay. Because you asked.

I've never heard of the shrimp stereotype, but I haven't seen that crocodile Dundee fellow around since childhood, so that must be it. I didn't know grilling was so popular...I just called it 'grilling' instead of BBQ - I feel like that might put me in the league with the shrimp guy...

Nah, I'll accept grilling. You seem like a cool person so I don't feel comfortable putting you in the shrimp guy category.

So, BBQing is not as popular as I suggest. It's popular but not every household does it I guess. And there's no no-BBQ-in-household tax either. I wish though, any way to reduce taxation is a good thing.

Sounds a bit like us Americans. It is pretty popular, in particular by the man's man variety. But there are a few of us that don't - I'm afraid I will roast some part of myself.

Roasted-self...Hmm, maybe not the best use of your resources.:)

Haha well done mate a great laugh all so.

:) It's a bit silly, but what 48 year old man could call himself legit if he didn't joke around sometimes. :)

So true :)

Sorry I didn't get to this before payout. The lizard image is priceless! When I lived in Guyana back in the 90's, I actually had BBQ iguana! No joke! It was amazing, similar to alligator tail.

That's ok mate, you saw it now and that's what counts. Nothing like throwing an iguana on the BBQ huh? :)

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.204 which ranks you at #2778 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 17 places in the last three days (old rank 2761).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 291 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Greetings I never imagined that Australians did BBK with kangaroos I always saw kangaroos as their national heritage or you kidding exitos Broth.

No, not kidding. Kangaroo meat is eaten here. I fact it's exported all over the world. It's best cooked reasonably rare apparently. I don't like it so don't buy it.

You got a 36.50% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50