SHORT AND GOOFY: [Reality as a simulation] - What have I got in my pocket?

in #humor7 years ago (edited)

So today was actually pretty busy for me this morning in my day to day job as a network engineer. We've finally handled some events for the day and my boss sends me the following image.

Yes, that does indeed look like a black box to me too. Yet, my boss the CTO of our company does not seem like the type to send me images without purpose.

I throw it into photoshop and do a Select by color range and delete out what is selected and end up with this.

I notice what appears to be some odd characters mixed in there but I still cannot make it out. So I ask him. He is one of those (as is my wife) that are really fond of sarcasm, so generally I view it as a challenge before asking questions.

He responds...

"That's the inside of my pocket apparently."

So I had put forth some effort trying to find out the secret of this seemingly black image. I thought maybe he sent me something and the alpha/transparency swapped to black as sometimes happens.

It turns out I over thought it.

Yet, consider this. Why are those characters there?

I told him jokingly that maybe we are indeed in a simulation, but unless we observe the places we normally can't see we may not notice it.

Though he simply replied "Or they were just confirmation bias."

I consider this entire exchange kind of amusing and thought I'd share it.

EDIT: Here is the other color selected instead.

Hmmm.... Random Map generator possibilities. :)

Sort:  

Yes, you accidentally found the code of the matrix.

Your handses! your handses are in your pocket!

That is indeed where I got the inspiration.

Cool. "...In a simulation...". As I'm sure you know, some scientists believe that reality is a hologram: https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2016/oct/11/simulated-world-elon-musk-the-matrix

Yeah I've written a few articles on it and been following the subject since before Elon Musk joined in. There were a lot of people talking about it recently. :) Fascinating topic.

You've written articles on it? Very cool. Please provide a link, bud. Would like to learn more.

Fascinating, indeed. Reality lovingly explodes my brain :-) I love knowing and continuing to learn about the macro and micro of our universe/ reality. Quantum physics is such a wonderful ride through thought and stimulates me immensely. Life is sometimes like looking at an always wobbling mirror, that doesn't care what we think we look like. :-) Great post, bud. :-)

In a simulation? Pffft. No way.

The aliens did it.

ahhh the pockets of fabric space and time,thank God there were no worm holes!....lol
Apophenia
HGD!
namaste

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75