Explained: The Reason Your Posts Don't Get Upvote

in #humor7 years ago

This is your friendly steemian @bitfairy here again to dish out the wise words of wisdom gathered after many days on steemit, don't take my word for it you can check steemd.com to see I've been here for like forever. Now that that is out of the way, we can go to the subject of discussion.
unsplashdaniel-pascoa-253357.jpg


You must have noticed various complaints from minnows about not getting the upvotes their posts deserved as against those post with nothing but pictures of cups getting a $1000 payout.


Thank goodness I am one of the fortunate whales with tons of SP. Again, this is the blockchain nothing is hidden here, don't just take my word for it. Check!


I think it is at this juncture that I would issue a note of warning. If you are too sensitive and hate to be told the truth, this is the right time to check another article. Agreed? Thank you.

In my usual fashion, I would be listing the reasons in numbers.

No. 1) You are sh*t out of luck!



Someone gotta say this, it may just as well be me. Agreed you spent 7 days writing that beautiful post, nearly got eaten by the crocodiles as you took that amazing picture, and somehow survived an earthquake on your way home. That is where your luck stopped. Coming to steemit, you must've used all your luck in getting the post made. Better luck next time mate.



No. 2) Your post made sh*t look good.



As an old user here, I have seen a lot of countless sh* t posts with owners screaming about the injustice of the world when it didn't get upvoted. It happens to the best of us, as good as my posts are, I sometimes get zero upvotes. Did I just hear "@bitfairy, you know how to make good posts?'' Thank you, observant stranger! At least some people appreciate my posts. But that is not a problem, as a whale, I can always upvote that sh*t post that no one likes enough to upvote.


No. 3) Upvotes are not infinite.



Yeah, you know that feeling when you see that lovely post, and you try to upvote it but remembered that your voting power is 1.9%. That sucks for the post. Doesn't it? Maybe tomorrow I would upvote it, you reminisce. Tomorrow, another awesome post comes along, like this one (hahaha) and you forgot about the other post. You, my friend, are a victim of limited upvotes. Be a man, or should I say a woman, and suck it up!
matthew-henry-64794.jpg

No 4) Tag abuse



You have made a beautiful post about How to Jump Over a Speeding Trailer Without Getting Hurt, which I believe should be in the sports category. I don't know if madness has a category yet here. You can let me know in the comments if they do. But in your wise decision, you decided it would be best to go under the food category. Well, my friend, your target audience may not see it and hence no upvote.
Another is a new trend I noticed, you wrote one line about the reason that water is tasteless and tag all the whales on steemit, including me of course, and get surprised when you had succeeded in pissing me off and hence getting no upvote from me and my fellow whale friends.




No. 5) Spam



We all hate spam, that is why most of us left other social media to come here to relax. But the spammers would have none of it! They are everywhere, spamming every post's comment with links to their article and asking anyone they see, including bots, to come and upvote their post. My friend that is spam, and no, I won't upvote you!





I hope I have been able to help you with these awesome points. Apply them and see me upvoting all your contents with my awesome steem power. But before I go, I would leave you with some words of wisdom from one of the greatest singer, sorry rapper, Tupac

“There's gon' be some stuff you gon' see
that's gon' make it hard to smile in the future.
But through whatever you see,
through all the rain and the pain,
you gotta keep your sense of humor.
You gotta be able to smile through all this bullsh*t.
Remember that.”

Until next post. See ya!

Image Credits: pixabay.com, unsplash.com, and pexels.com

Sort:  

i think the biggest hurdle for me early on was recognizing and understanding the voting power and how it fluctuates. now i often take a day or two off so i can re-maximize my voting power once it goes back up. i don't resteem or upvote a lot of the posts that already get a metric fuckton of love - i just resteem or upvote the ones that tickle my brain in fun ways. there are plenty of those people out there not getting love either and they're posting more than pictures of cups, they just aren't complaining about it :P

Thank you. This is someone who has seen the light :)

Thanks for the nice lil break down on this touchy subject lol.

Thank you, I love helping younger steemians as an old citizen :)

" @bitfairy, you know how to make good posts?'' That's true...

I'll take your word for it. Lol

Thanks for dropping by.

Lolz......I don't know how to react exactly to this post. Whether it is comical or enlightening.....i'm yet to even fathom.
Nice one @bitfairy

I'm having the same problem here too :)

I am shot out of luck(:

It sucks to be you. Hahaha.

But will follow the rapper words.. Hahaha

Nice and usefull post, upvote with all power i have :)

That's very awesome and kind of you :)

let's make a gangsta party! :D
Nice one.

Make it rather a steem backed party :)

Why are Nigeria and Africa in the tags? XD

I'm open to suggestions... What do you think?

CBF to think of a funny explanation ┐(゚~゚)┌

I'll be waiting to hear it when you do get around to it :)

well you've got all the things we shouldn't be doing. I keep thinking just plug along and it will work out, but damn, it's depressing.

Keep on pushing it, I see the light at the end of the tunnel.

well, I wish I saw the light...lol ....thanks for the encouragement

You will, it's almost here. You welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64