I’ve Made over $250,000 as a Professional WritersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #humorlast year

Seriously, I’ve made over a quarter of a million dollars as a writer. There’s a simple formula — and here it is.

1_7cCgoqrAPB0xDXUoIH3dlw.webp

I don't care I've made over $250,000 writing content online. To touch? Mad? Is it complete nonsense?
No, that's true.

I must say that I have been a writer for perhaps over ten years. To be honest, I could have done more. I also spent several years starting a web design and marketing business.

How I Made More Than $250,000

When you calculate it, it's easy to make $250,000 as a writer... over time.
I lived in Playa del Carmen, Mexico for most of the decade. I live by the sea and write 2-3 sentences a day - live a new life in the lake (sometimes your hair, corners, slits and buttocks are always covered with sand and you are just tired of the beach), with friends, fun In the sun. Sometimes I travel abroad and work when I go.

1_U6n_UL5IfTyLVTIu6NNyow.webp

I've been doing it for over ten years. So $250,000+.

But remember, the lifestyle I did gave me my life. That's definitely not $25,000 in annual revenue (let's face it—not much). I'm traveling with a backpack, my apartment is nice - but definitely not beautiful, and I've never had a car - even if I didn't want or need it).

Unless you're writing in a cafe, they'll most likely want you to wear pants.

All it takes to become a full-time writer is simple math and hard work.

  • Find out how much money you need to live. Do you want $2,000 per month or $5,000 per month? For example, let's say you can live on $3,000 a month.

  • Now calculate the average amount per article. If you're not getting paid to write, I would say - don't write less than $20/$350 word count. As with anything, the more the better. I usually charge around $40 for 350 words (and I type very fast, so it's usually $40-50 an hour).

Do the math.

  • If you want $3000 per month and pay $25 per article. You should write 120 sentences a month - about 4 times a day, 6 times a day if you want to relax on your day off.

Now, put together your resume, cover letter and references and start applying for gig writing. Work part time until you have a list of clients (in my experience this usually takes at least a few months).
Now go back and calculate your taxes and other expenses (eg savings, gold, etc.).

1_aJJBclPs15Nda5knjql28Q.webp

Over time, apply for jobs (even if you already have clients) and refine your message by a paragraph or so. When you see people making more money, you work less per day or you make more money

After my salary increases steadily - I choose to work less - so I live in such a way that I can earn more money. BTW, for some reason, it's always easier to work with people who have more money. So keep your prices even if it's just for better customers.

It’s Not That Hard

This is a simple example of being a business writer. It doesn't include self-promotion, sales, product development, marketing, and always using jazz and sass (selling yourself successfully requires a lot of self-confidence...or just a Fan account). Being a content writer just takes your time.

This method - compared to the first type of work above - is very simple. It just takes a plan and some work.
That's why I'm writing this article...there are many "masters" who make a writer's job very difficult. But they're talking about the registrar. The author's version of making fancy pants (actually you should wear pants) is great. Most people give up before they succeed.

The "way of doing business" isn't just about being a simple writer, it can be done in a few months (not years... if you can).
It's not that attractive, but it's not as easy as pulling one off.

So if you want to be a full time writer, but creating a brand is out of the question. Consider moving into a writing career.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28